How to tell Blender where to find Python

Scripting in Blender with Python, and working on the API

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

blunderhead
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:19 am
Location: Cloud 9

How to tell Blender where to find Python

Postby blunderhead » Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:31 pm

Blender: 2.3
Python: 2.2
Sys: win98
How to tell Blender where I have installed python? Right now, it doesn't seem to be able to find it.
Thanks!
Newby blunderhead

skontar
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:56 am

Postby skontar » Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:55 pm

Hi!!!

Move your cursor over the top window border, untill it turns to a double side arrow. Then drag and drop the border down, to reveal the info window.

You will find a button labeled:"Python:". Hold down SHIFT and press the button with LEFT MOUSE CLICK. Now you have a red cursor on the button.
Insert there the full Path to th directory, where Python is installed.

That's it. I think this will solve your problem....


Spyros.

theeth
Posts: 1184
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Postby theeth » Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:28 pm

don't forget to update the users default with Ctrl-U so the settings stays there permanently.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

blunderhead
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:19 am
Location: Cloud 9

did those two things; still having problems

Postby blunderhead » Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:47 pm

Thank you for the quick responses!

I did make an entry on the info screen and then did do a cntrl-u to save it and that all worked.

I probably just have a basic lack of knowledge in how to use python scripts with blender. I'm using Carstens book and will try some more.

As Arnold sez, "I'll be back!"

ps, this forum is great!

blunderhead
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:19 am
Location: Cloud 9

Python joy

Postby blunderhead » Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:31 am

I was doing something stupid earlier! I don't know what but now it's working fine. Most likely I was making syntax errors.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

Blunderhead blundering through Blender

markluffel
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2002 12:16 am
Location: Georgia Tech, Atlanta
Contact:

Mac Python Path

Postby markluffel » Thu Oct 24, 2002 5:40 am

I can't seem to have Blender find my python modules. "sys.path" has an entry for "/sw/lib/python2.2/" (fink distribution), but none of the modules will import. Any ideas why?

[edit]
It can find some modules, but not others. It will only find anything if I explicitly set my sys.path to ["/sw/lib/python2.2/"]. The python interpreter seems different in this version(2.25) than in previous ones. Imported symbols don't carry over across executions.

Edgar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 2:30 am

Postby Edgar » Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:08 am

I have ver 2.23 of blender and python 2.2.2 I, never did any python but i found a good site on terragen to use with blender. at

http://users.skynet.be/sky33676/ter2blend1.htmlSetting the PYTHONPATH

Go the Python 2.0 folder and start IDLE (Python GUI) . Type after the prompt:

import sys
print sys.path

You will get an answer which will look similar like this:

['D:\\Python20', 'D:\\PYTHON20\\Tools\\idle', 'd:\\python20', 'd:\\python20\\dlls', 'd:\\python20\\lib', 'd:\\python20\\lib\\plat-win', 'd:\\python20\\lib\\lib-tk']

convert it like this:

delete all '
delete the [ and ]
replace all \\ with a single \
delete all spaces after the ,
replace all , with ;

My question is How do I edit this thing in the python shell
Can some body please help me!

Edgar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 2:30 am

Postby Edgar » Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:13 am

Ups I just cheked that web address and is not the right one this is the rigt one

http://users.skynet.be/sky33676/Ter2BlendTutorial.html


Return to “Python”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests