Page 1 of 1

Blender on PS3

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:01 pm
by kroopson
Since the PS3 can run linux operating system than maybe there is a way to use it's POWER and try to make some modelling/rendering in Blender. I've heard that PS3 has about 7 cores, 3ghz each. It sounds like a small renderfarm for 600$ :) Anyone tried it yet?

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:05 pm
by joeri
We are thinking about it.
But we are moving somewhat away from the idea.
A renderfarm machine would only need a cpu ,a network card and lots of memory. That's not to hard to get for $600,= and more memory for a ps3 seems like a difficult thing todo.

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:34 pm
by z3r0_d
also, merely compiling blender would take advantage of none of the additional "cores"... I would probably be a lot of work to rewrite parts of blender to be optimized to run on that architecture.

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:22 pm
by LetterRip
a company was looking to hire an intern to port blender to the Cell processor and take advantage of the additional cores for rendering.

It will happen eventually I'm sure.

Biggest challenge is more likely the ram constraints of the PS3.

LetterRip

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:34 pm
by tbaldridge
I'm planning on buying a PS3 (once the hype has calmed down) just to be able to program. I may attempt this at that time.

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:32 pm
by kakapo
http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/81254

sorry, german only... but it says linux on the ps3 won't allow access of the nvidia gpu. it only allows writing into the framebuffer but not using any kind of 2d or 3d acceleration. it seems like they want to prevent good looking ps3 linux games.

$600 for a linux box without 2d/3d acceleration and only 256mb ram. hm... :) but maybe it would make a nice mediacenter once it is cheaper.

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:15 pm
by kroopson
well I guess that this eliminates any chances to use PS3 as a workstation :(