Blender slow with nice graphics card...

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
IteoX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:10 pm

Blender slow with nice graphics card...

Post by IteoX » Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:19 pm

Ok, I have a Dell optiplex gx240 computer with a geforce 6200, but Blender still has been slow. It is nice and fast for the first few minutes, but then slows down to an aggravating pace. I dont think this is a hardware problem, it might be a driver problem, but I think that it might be a blender problem. If so, what can I do to change it? Would switching to linux help? Thank you.

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip » Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:49 am

It is a driver problem,

if on windows turn down hardware acceleration or upgrade drivers are the usual fixes for such issues.

LetterRip

IteoX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:10 pm

Hey

Post by IteoX » Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:46 pm

Thanks a million

IteoX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:10 pm

Hmmm

Post by IteoX » Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:59 pm

I have tried both and nothing changed.

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:01 am

Linux is awesome. :D IMHO You should switch, but that's a tough decision and you should weigh all the odds. The best way to fix it is copy your driver's opengl DLL into the same directory as blender.exe. I'm sorry, however, that I don't know what that file is called on NVidia...
"It is the eternal struggle between these two principles — right and wrong — throughout the world."
- Abraham Lincoln

IteoX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:10 pm

Yep

Post by IteoX » Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:40 am

Thanks. I was thinking of just doing multiple platforms at once. Is linux any better/faster for blenders sake?

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip » Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:44 pm

Blender tends to render faster and make better usage of ram and swap on linux compared to windows.

LetterRip

botgeek
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:35 am

Did you get geforce 6200 card working?

Post by botgeek » Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:46 am

IteoX - Just wondering if you got the geforce 6200 card working. I am thinking of putting Blender on a computer that has a geforce 5200 card and was wondering if I might run into problems similar to the ones you are having. Did you find a fix?

IteoX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:10 pm

Well

Post by IteoX » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:40 pm

I did do what was said, but what really fixed it for me was going back to default settings. I had put some particle logic settings too high and, ummm it crashed blender. That was the only problem

Post Reply