Is graphics card adequate and does it work with Blender?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
botgeek
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:35 am

Is graphics card adequate and does it work with Blender?

Post by botgeek »

I currently have a GeForce FX5200 graphics card in my computer. It supports OpenGL 1.4. Is this card adequate for Blender and does anyone know how well it works?

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d »

It is adequate. I'm not sure if it works, but any card that supports OGL 1.1 should work. Blender doesn't do a whole lot with the graphics card, so that's not the most important part of the system. The CPU and RAM take a lot more of a beating with Blender.
"It is the eternal struggle between these two principles — right and wrong — throughout the world."
- Abraham Lincoln

botgeek
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:35 am

CPU and RAM

Post by botgeek »

My CPU is a Pentium 4 running at 2.8GHz and I have 512 Megs of RAM. Could add more RAM if necessary.

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

A pentium III 300 MHz with 256MB ram and a ancient graphics card is even adequate for very basic blender usage - however a mid to high end system with 2-4GB ram; intel dual core duo or dual AMD 64; and a nice graphics card would be really good. Graphics card is becoming more important with sculpt due to high polycounts.

LetterRip

Post Reply