I want to design a user interface for Blender

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

whitelight

I want to design a user interface for Blender

Post by whitelight » Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:34 pm

Hello everybody. I'm new to the Blender community even though I've been looking a Blender releases for years.

Its progressing very well on the technical side. Kudos to everyone working dev and technical R&D for Blender. But it could use an artist UI that is less "Blender" and more "any artist can instantly understand and use it".

I'm not here to get anyone's favorite UI ripped out of Blender and replaced with something I suggest.

Instead I want to propose additional floating controls that are logical, easy to understand, artist friendly and enable rapid scene editing for everyone. Controls that pop up in the 3D viewport only when people want to use them, with a hotkey, so that nobody has to break the workflow they are accustomed to from Blender if they don't want to.

I have a good deal of experience in 3D workflow and want to suggest some ways of doing things that you can't even find in the commercial packages yet. I don't have much spare time to engage in coding so I would like to design these elements visually, like concept art, and present them with notes and diagrams that explain step by step how they work and why doing it this way has benefits for the user.

My focus will be artist-centric. UI elements that are not intended for the technically inclined artist who can wire shader nodes together in his sleep but rather for the less techy artist focused more on bringing a character or a scene or a narrative or VFX shot to life.