Building Tuhopuu for windows using free tools

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani » Tue Apr 15, 2003 7:56 pm

Hi monocult.

It seems you need to reinstall gcc for cygwin.
Remember you need to install the python and the perl for cygwin packages. Run the setup.exe and go to the package selection and there go into "interpreters" if you're in "category" view mode. there select python and perl.
and proceed to their installation.

Dani

monocult
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:28 pm
Location: Siegburg (germany)
Contact:

Post by monocult » Tue Apr 15, 2003 8:10 pm

It seems you need to reinstall gcc for cygwin.
now it works fine. :D

thanks

Daniel

ray_theray
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:05 am
Location: NM, US
Contact:

Post by ray_theray » Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:55 am

Okay, now I'll give you my problems. I successfully compiled the binary in about two hours (slow processor), but when I launch the program, I get this dialog:

Code: Select all

The BLENDERDYNAMIC.EXE file is
linked to missing export NTDLL.DLL:_allmul.
My first shot at compiling failed becuase NTDLL.DLL was in C:\windows\system, not C:\windows\system32. I copied it to the latter folder, the compilation worked, but I don't know where the binary looks for NTDLL.DLL.
-ray_theray

Hos
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:06 am

Post by Hos » Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:29 am

ray_theray wrote:My first shot at compiling failed becuase NTDLL.DLL was in C:\windows\system, not C:\windows\system32. I copied it to the latter folder, the compilation worked, but I don't know where the binary looks for NTDLL.DLL.
OK, I have committed a revision that has absolutely no
dependency on ntdll.dll and in particular it compiles
on windows 98... so update both the tuhopuu sources,
and the lib/windows from bf-blender and get compiling!
(don't forget to do a 'source free_windows-env.sh' after
you update).
eeshlo wrote: Well, that is really ancient stuff I haven't worked on since end 2001 I think. Dynamica is not developed any longer, the project has been closed around a year ago. I know others are working on some cloth code, mine was just a hack that happened to look reasonably good, basically only created to make that video and nothing else.
Well, now your sim can be used to make many, many things... Get to work! :P

Chris

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani » Wed Apr 16, 2003 12:38 pm

:)

Thanks!!!

Okay, I've been trying to compile blender with quicktime support (uncommenting the makefile)...
But there are obviously some header files and libs missing... movie.h and QTML.h

I found them through a google search and placed them in blender's include dir... but they don't seem to be the correct version... so where can i get the correct includes for quicktime support.
Also, Avi codec doesn't show the codec selection window anymore...

Anyway it's fun to fiddle with the code :)

Dani

phase
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 1:59 pm

Post by phase » Wed Apr 16, 2003 1:20 pm

For Win/OSX Quicktime support you need the Quicktime SDK from Apple:

OSX:
ftp://ftp.apple.com/developer/Developme ... DK_Mac.hqx

Win:
ftp://ftp.apple.com/developer/Developme ... DK_Win.hqx
(don't worry, it's a zip file)

Rob

jms
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 3:04 pm

Post by jms » Wed Apr 16, 2003 5:27 pm

Hos wrote:...
OK, I have committed a revision that has absolutely no
dependency on ntdll.dll and in particular it compiles
on windows 98...
Well, now your sim can be used to make many, many things... Get to work! :P
Chris
Compilation just ending on win98.
Great work! Really impressive!
Zoo-3D.Blender, Ze French-Speaking Community SKB My french book about Blender.

Saluk
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:52 am

Post by Saluk » Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:10 pm

Thanks Hos, I was unable to compile before, but with I downloaded a new cvs update last night and it worked!

I don't have ODE support, is this taken out on purpose? Not that it's that important, I don't need ODE to play around.

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani » Wed Apr 16, 2003 7:50 pm

Thanks for the tip!
(don't worry, it's a zip file)
ahaaa... hum... i had downloaded it but this hqx extension made me think i had downloaded the wrong one... so i deleted it :D

Here we go again!!

Yoohoo!
Dani

Hos
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:06 am

Post by Hos » Wed Apr 16, 2003 8:26 pm

Saluk wrote:I don't have ODE support, is this taken out on purpose? Not that it's that important, I don't need ODE to play around.
ODE is not enabled by default ... it can be enabled
by uncommenting the line in the top Makefile:

export WITH_ODE=true

A make clean would probably be needed after that.

Don't know if it works with this build system yet
though (let us know).
Dani wrote:ahaaa... hum... i had downloaded it but this hqx extension made me think i had downloaded the wrong one... so i deleted it :D

Here we go again!!
Just a warning: this is unlikely to work presently
as the FREE_WINDOWS option hasn't really been
set up for quicktime support... you may have to get
your hands dirty or wait for somebody else to
prepare the source tree for this.

Chris

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani » Wed Apr 16, 2003 9:27 pm

Just a warning: this is unlikely to work presently
as the FREE_WINDOWS option hasn't really been
set up for quicktime support... you may have to get
your hands dirty or wait for somebody else to
prepare the source tree for this.
Okay, I may try to figure it out...
also figured out (thanks to Jean...) how to use hqx files :D hehe [silly me]

Thank you!
Dani

eeshlo
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 10:02 pm

Post by eeshlo » Wed Apr 16, 2003 9:52 pm

It compiled ok this time, thanks Hos!
Hos wrote: Well, now your sim can be used to make many, many things... Get to work! :P
Well, sorry to disappoint you but I think I'll leave all this physics stuff to others, way too complex for me...
Trying to improve the material/texture stuff was a more attainable goal for me, but Cessen already is doing some excellent work on that, he obviously actually really knows what he is doing.
So, I really just sort of wanted to try to compile this out of curiosity, nothing more, I don't really have time anymore for anything else.

Hos
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:06 am

Post by Hos » Thu Apr 17, 2003 4:01 am

Hos wrote:ODE is not enabled by default ... it can be enabled
by uncommenting the line in the top Makefile:

export WITH_ODE=true

A make clean would probably be needed after that.

Don't know if it works with this build system yet
though (let us know).
OK, I just commited some code and libs to get this to work
-- update your blender and lib/windows directories.

Chris

iluvblender
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:45 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Post by iluvblender » Thu Apr 24, 2003 9:35 pm

Hi Hos.

I compiled blender on windows. thank you very much for your tips/instructions. :D

Skelet
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 4:07 pm

Post by Skelet » Fri Apr 25, 2003 8:21 am

iluvblender wrote:Hi Hos.

I compiled blender on windows. thank you very much for your tips/instructions. :D
Can you share with it ? Please
Image
The Skelet

Post Reply