Graphics card compatibility - post your specs here!

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

proton12@sympatico.ca
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:38 pm

Post by proton12@sympatico.ca »

Operating system: Windows XP SP2
Graphics card: Ati sapphire radeon 9000 atlantis pro
Driver version: 6.14.10.6614
OpenGL Version: 6.14.10.5819
Funcionality: (Blender Version 2.42) I have had no problems with blender or yafray.

bowserjps
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: Auburndale, MA USA

Post by bowserjps »

Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Media Center 2002 SP2
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce 6200SE Turbocache
Driver version: NVidia 81.98
Functionality: Blender works perfectly

etyrnal
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:38 pm

Macintosh OS X.4.8 Mini 1.5GHz 64MB vidram - NO GO

Post by etyrnal »

On my Macintosh Mini (1.5GHz G4) w/ the 64MB video card doeas NOT work.

i get a message warning me that i need a video card that has 8MB or more video memory - but his machine has 64MB


ATI Radeon 9200

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

I think it means 8 MB free, not total.

try to turn down the number of colors used by Mac OS X, - Unfortunately OS X and Blender have different opengl contexts so you need all of the ram required by OS X plus an additional 8 MB for Blender.

LetterRip

etyrnal
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:38 pm

Post by etyrnal »

LetterRip wrote:I think it means 8 MB free, not total.

try to turn down the number of colors used by Mac OS X, - Unfortunately OS X and Blender have different opengl contexts so you need all of the ram required by OS X plus an additional 8 MB for Blender.

LetterRip
thanks, will try...

I have a hard time believing that OSX uses 48+ megs of video ram while doing nothing but trying to run blender.

Weird.

etyrnal
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 11:38 pm

Post by etyrnal »

LetterRip wrote:I think it means 8 MB free, not total.

try to turn down the number of colors used by Mac OS X, - Unfortunately OS X and Blender have different opengl contexts so you need all of the ram required by OS X plus an additional 8 MB for Blender.

LetterRip
i forgot to mention that the main machine that i use Blender on, is a iMac 20" G5 w/ a 64MB video card... basically the same as the mini's... So it does not seem like it's a video ram issue for real - but i wonder...

I am managing that machine w/ VNC when this happens, so that i can experiment w/ Network (distributed) rendering...

So maybe VNC creates an 'emulated' memory space??

qwequ777
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:05 pm

Post by qwequ777 »

Operating systems: OpenSuSE Linux 10.0 / FreeBSD 6.1
Graphics card: Ati Radeon 9200SE (with direct rendering on both systems)
Driver version: 8.28.8 (from www.ati.com) / open source driver for FreeBSD
Funcionality: Blender 2.42 (linux) / Blender 2.41 FreeBSD:

I did not experience any problems with either yafray or Blender on Linux, FreeBSD-Blender works nice (except a small issue with the dotted line of the camera when you are in camera-view) - I do not have Yafray installed on FreeBSD so I cannot say anything about it.

Julius_Sneezer
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Ottawa

Post by Julius_Sneezer »

ATI x700 pro
win xp sp2
1 gig ram
AMD 3000

it ran with I believe the CAT 5.4 atioglxx.dll driver

I installed any CAT driver to a temp, then found the ogl driver;
atioglxx.dl_
found expand.exe(16kb) and copied this
Then went to DOS mode;
c> expand atioglxx.dl_ c: atioglxx.dll
Then copied this to \system32 and \dllcache folders.


I just bought the new ATI 1950pro videocard and couldn't get Blender to work with the latest driver CAT 7.1. So I tried a previous driver and found that the

(CAT 6.11 atioglxx.dll) worked with the CAT 7.1 driver.
And now Blender 2.43 works!!!!

Relayer
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:39 am

Post by Relayer »

OS windows xp sp2
ATI Radeon 8500 (128meg) "I know, an oldie." :-)
drivers 6.11
6-11-pre-r300_xp-2k_dd_ccc_wdm_38185 is the entire .exe name which also includes the catalyst control center. You cannot, to my knowledge, just DL the drivers seperately.

The control panel part of the package causes problems with Blender's UI on my system. I went into add and remove programs and uninstalled the catalyst control center and the UI problems were fixed.
I use Rage3d tweaker to control the vid card settings without the Cat CC

MadMesh
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by MadMesh »

Operating system: Windows XP Pro
Graphics card: ATI Radeon Xpress 1150
Catalyst® Version: 07.2
Driver Packaging Version: 8.342-070202a1-041238C-ATI
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.6347
Funcionality: (Blender Version 2.43) Very sluggish, but no errors in the display like colors or stripes and such just very slow.

These are the specs on my laptop Dell Inspiron 1501. Games run great and smooth exept Blender. Maybe this problem is caused by a simple setting, but I dont know which one.

metalliandy
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:35 pm

Re: I'll get things started..

Post by metalliandy »

Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 SP2
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Driver/OpenGL version: v158.19 NVIDIA driver
Functionality: Blender works perfectly in 2.43

blacki
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:51 am

Post by blacki »

OS: Windows XP SP3 (32-bit)
CPU: AM2 5600 (Dual core 64bit 2.8Ghz)
GPU: 320MB 8800GTS

Blender Ver 2.42 - OK
Blender Ver 2.44 - Problems with redrawing windows, also after render finishes the render window goes black and needs to be clicked on to make the render appear.

OS: Windows XP SP2 (32-bit)
Dell Optiplex GX280
CPU: P4 2.8Ghz
GPU: Intel 82915G Integrated graphics

Blender Ver 2.42 & 2.44 - OK

OS: Windows XP SP2 (32-bit)
CPU: 1.8Ghz Celeron
GPU: ATi 9600Pro

Blender Ver 2.42 - OK

P.S. Just an idea, should we run a blender benchmark - ie, render a standard fluid sim or animation sequence and compare times? I was planning on doing this so I can compare performance in Blender between Windows and Solaris etc.
And is there any way we could benchmark the hardware render (i haven't touched the gaming side of blender)

fluessig
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by fluessig »

OS: Windows XP Pro SP2 (32-bit)
CPU: Athlon XP 3000+
GPU: ATI X1950 Pro 512 MB (Omega Drivers)

Blender Ver 2.44 - works fine.

OS: Windows XP Home SP2 (32-bit)
CPU: Celeron 1,3 GHz
GPU: SiS 630/730

Blender Ver 2.44 - works fine.

Same System
OS: Kubuntu 7.04
CPU: Celeron 1,3 GHz
GPU: SiS 630/730

Blender Ver 2.44 - problems with the redrawing around the cursor. That's quite annoying but the real issue is the selecting (B-Key) isn't redrawn properly. The lines don't get erased. The same problem occured with Ver 2.43 and this is a screenshot showing it:

Image
Difference between 2.44 and 2.43 is that the lines are now blue instead of pink.

Nikoletta.pl
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:50 pm

Post by Nikoletta.pl »

OS: Windows XP Home
CPU:AMD Sempron 3000+
RAM 512 MB
Video Chip VIA S3G Unichrome
No problems

bobbens
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 7:12 pm

Post by bobbens »

OS: Linux Debian SID (amd64 branch)
CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6600
RAM: 2 GB
Video: ATI Technologies Inc RV370 [Sapphire X550 Silent]
Driver: Open Source X.org driver [6.6.193-3 from debian Sid]

Works fine other then minor quirks like menu being a bit laggy, but no need for proprietary drivers :). Tested with Blender 2.42 up to Blender 2.45.

Post Reply