64bit version of Blender?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
JA-forreal
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:45 pm

64bit version of Blender?

Post by JA-forreal »

With the new Opteron chips making an intro into the PC workstation area has any thought been given to developing a 64bit version of Blender?

knoxer
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:56 pm

PPC 970

Post by knoxer »

Also there will (soon) be affordable 64 bit PPC 970 systems available from IBM running linux, and hopefully also from Apple running Mac OS X.

How hard would it be to move blender to 64 bit code? What are the benefits besides being able to use more memory? Increased precision??

IoN_PuLse
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:05 am
Location: Canada, BC
Contact:

Post by IoN_PuLse »

You would just have to compile it in 64-bit mode, not a big deal... (if the code was written correctly to handle this :twisted: However it probably is, considering that it's extremely cross-platform)

dreamerv3
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:30 am

Post by dreamerv3 »

Perhaps the only easy thing about all this is 64 bit compilation...

VelikM
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:18 am

Post by VelikM »

At one time it was compiled for DEC alpha, up to blender version 2.14 I think, so it shouldn't be that hard to get it to compile on a different 64 bit arch.
The maintaince of blender for the alpha was dropped when DEC sold out.

thorax
Posts: 320
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 6:45 am
Contact:

Post by thorax »

VelikM wrote:At one time it was compiled for DEC alpha, up to blender version 2.14 I think, so it shouldn't be that hard to get it to compile on a different 64 bit arch.
The maintaince of blender for the alpha was dropped when DEC sold out.
The maintenance of blender was probably dropped when windows
announced that it would stopp supporting the Alpha processors, but Compaq still sells Alpha based super computers and workstations..

VelikM
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:18 am

Post by VelikM »

thorax wrote: The maintenance of blender was probably dropped when windows
announced that it would stopp supporting the Alpha processors, but Compaq still sells Alpha based super computers and workstations..
It was a linux distro for the alpha, not windows, even though it ran fine on NT 4.0 (using FX32).
I was real sad when NAN stopped maintaining the alpha distro., alphas are great rendering boxes.

Post Reply