The Blender Game Kit vs. Upcoming return of the game engine

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

DragonWitch

The Blender Game Kit vs. Upcoming return of the game engine

Post by DragonWitch » Sat Jun 14, 2003 5:39 am

'Allo,

I am very new to the Blender community. So new in fact I haven't even downloaded or installed Blender yet! Anyway, I have a very important question;

I am really interested in purchasing the Blender Game Kit. It looks to be a very valuable resource for Blender. My concern, though, is that is uses what I would consider a pretty much "out of date" version of Blender and I wonder how useful having the game kit would be in the long run.

Will the game kit still provide useful with the new releases of Blender? Will the new releases of the game engine for Blender be radically different than the last release with the game engine? Will the Python scripting be any different? Basically, will what I learn with the game kit still be useful for the upcoming versions of Blender or will it be obsolete?

That's all I want to know.

xype

Post by xype » Sat Jun 14, 2003 7:35 am

I think the main goal for Blender 2.x development, right now, it to get the functionality back to where it was before it went opensource. I think the parts of the game engine that were mising went opensource as well and as for the rest it shouldn't change dramatically in the near future.

Changing Blender completely would take too much time, I think it will only get improved slightly trough versions, so the GameKit should sta useable for some time.

thorax

Post by thorax » Sat Jun 14, 2003 11:20 am

In blender 3.x there may be considerations for ways to
improve the Gameblender part.. Although gameblender
files made of previous will have to remain compatible
with future blenders, there will need to be discussion
open for consider how to improve Gameblender,
such as in the functionality board..