Another OSX update

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
ton
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Another OSX update

Post by ton »

Hi,

http://download.blender.org/demo/test/blender.dmg

Now that I know a bit more of OpenGL behaviour at OSX, a couple of annyoning things have been solved.

- much more responsive interface (open radiosity buttons and move mouse around, now try with the older ones)
- no freeze in 'millions of colors' anymore, but still runs slower.
- render window still cannot be closed, but switching between 'dispview' and 'dispwin' goes OK now
- pressing ESC while rendering reacts fast & realible now
- tooltips nicely appear after 0.3 seconds

Please confirm correct behaviour, then I'll post an official 'a' release

-Ton-

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

cool ness. Works great

Now one more bug if you could.
It has to do with osx. All of the windows that have time lines
like ipo, etc... Do not work right. . When I click in the area of
10 frames in jumps to 50 or more.

Please fix

ton
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Post by ton »

I cannot redo that...

check your F7 menu, 'frame mapping' settings. You might have set 'map old' and 'map new' to different values.

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

no I mean when you click inside of the armature window (and others)
on the twenty frame line the orange time line bar will not go there.
it will go somewhere else. Like say 100 or sometimes just 2

it varys. Do you understand me.

ev3rywh3re
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 5:49 pm
Contact:

ibook 600, 384 ram

Post by ev3rywh3re »

Seems good here.

I have also had problems interacting with IPO screens.

jess.

ton
Site Admin
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:13 am
Contact:

Post by ton »

You'll have to investigate yourself a problem to help out. When does it happen? Full screen? Small blender window? Each ipo window?
How can you redo it? When does it not happen? Why? Do you have non-standard screen or desktop settings?

Follow the tip I posted about 'frame mapping', I'm mentioning that for a good reason.

Here's a good checklist from the bug tracker:

- if possible, test at another system and/or OS first
- ask if someone else can redo your bug
- test it with an earlier, official release too, and mention results
- try to locate the exact and easiest way a bug can be reproduced.

Bugs are computer software too, and always logical. :-)
You don't have to be a coder to track down a bug.

cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

...

Post by cekuhnen »

on my g4 powerbook os x 2.2.6 blender has no a white screen as well no matter in thousands or millions of colors...
it worked bevor.

also even bevor blender froze the system when i tryed to resize the window space devider. the small hand showed up and frozze or the mosue was gone.

looks like a serious trouble!

eicke

cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

...

Post by cekuhnen »

i reinstalled the system all works now as it should!

jsplifer
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 4:37 pm
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA USA
Contact:

Blender 2.27.3 OS X Release

Post by jsplifer »

Ohh yes! It just keeps getting better!

The slow buttons were my number one peev. And to my delight they are slightly faster in this version. Its actually fun to Global Illuminate now! I also am enjoying the fixed Vertex Paint mode and using it with python scripts. A huge time saver! I did however notice one small glitch. The QT codec > Options button > window freezes my machine and I must force quit blender to recover. I am using Mac OS X version 10.2.6 with Nvidia GeForce2 card on G4 cpu. Color is set at millions of colors and everything seems to be working OK.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!
jsplifer

Post Reply