Page 1 of 2

I got edge selection!

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 4:41 pm
by Goofster
well, with a bit of hacking and a lot of help from the people in #blendersauce I managed to code an alpha version of edge selection.

please consider this a test version only!

how it works:

- select an edge by ctrl-RIGHTclicking near an edge. if it was already selected it will be deselected (just like vertice selection).

- for optimum effect enable the Draw Edges button in the editbuttons (right bottom corner) that I also coded :)

- also checkout the duplivert hiding button (located below the duplivert button itself) that disables viewing of the dupliverts in the 3D window (it still renders them)

have fun!

http://www.elysiun.com/~roel/bin/blender.exe

Roel

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 4:46 pm
by Money_YaY!
source code please.....

Re: I got edge selection!

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 4:59 pm
by renderedbrian
Goofster wrote:well, with a bit of hacking and a lot of help from the people in #blendersauce I managed to code an alpha version of edge selection.

please consider this a test version only!


http://www.elysiun.com/~roel/bin/blender.exe

Roel
You clever fellow you! I was planning on implementing edge selection, but I have just been far too busy!

Good to see someone else has implemented it anyway!

Edit - could you post the source up as a patch so otheres can test for various builds?
--
Brian

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 5:12 pm
by Goofster
I'm bugfixing it first myself, still some stuff that's messy
after that I'll post a patch

Roel

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 5:42 pm
by mthoenes
Goofster,
I am so excited about this. Fantastic addition to the modeling capability. It may seem minor to some, but it can be a huge time saver. The draw edges, is almost the best part. now it is much easier to determing what you have selected when looking through a complicated mesh. this is another enhancement to the viewing capabilities recently added. Shaded wire mode combined with this is great. Now if we could somehow hide the back face verts...

My vote for incorporating this edge select and edge draw into the app is an emphatic YES!

I have an immediate need for dupilvert Hiding! I've got acharacter with dupilverted hair blobs... This feature would save me from having to toggle layers on his hair. Very Cool!

Very cool!

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 5:54 pm
by Pablosbrain
Very very cool!! Can't wait to see more of this type of functionality added into blender. I still prefer Wings3D over blender for modeling but this is a great addition! Keep up the fabulous work!

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:51 pm
by iluvblender
:D

Excellent work.

yay.


-Satish.

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:01 pm
by Friday13
Finally! Go, Goofster, go!!!! :D

sounds good...

Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:54 pm
by Mel_Q
sounds good... but the executable you provided makes my system crash instantly
with a nasty gpf, when I 'right ctrl click'. 'Vanilla' 2.27 runs fine....

  • System specs....
    Athlon XP2100 (sse2 might make it GPF itself...)
    256megs ram
    windows 98se (eeewww)...
    Geforce2 mx200 with 44.03 drivers
...

No idea why it 'poofs' (unless it was compiled specifically for sse2 ?)...

Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:00 am
by JA-forreal
It crashed on my PC until I got the gnu_gettext.dll file packed here-

http://home.a-city.de/franco.bez/gettex ... 32_en.html


Look in the dir-\\gettext.win32.msvcrt\gettext.win32.msvcrt\deploy
gnu_gettext.dll

Although it crashes upon selecting more than one edge. But I get the point and I like it.

Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 10:45 pm
by macke
You did good Goofster! I'm looking forward to further discussing this with you, regarding the implementation of face selection and selection features like edgeloops and edgerings!

Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2003 11:31 pm
by JA-forreal
macke wrote:You did good Goofster! I'm looking forward to further discussing this with you, regarding the implementation of face selection and selection features like edgeloops and edgerings!


You guys are mad cool! Bring it on!

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:47 am
by Goofster
UPDATE:

ok, the code is all cleaned up now. big coodles go to Mr. Ton himself for putting up with me, and Macke for being worse at math than me :D

http://www.elysiun.com/~roel/bin/blender-edgebeta.exe

the edge selection should work ok now. but don't touch the K-Key....I'm working on that :)

Roel

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 1:18 am
by Eric
Goofster, you're now officially a CJ/h@xx0r -monkey!

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 1:49 am
by Money_YaY!
code code code , give give give, Osx Osx Osx icode.

Good work boy :twisted: