Blender + Linux

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
rottingdead
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 pm

Blender + Linux

Post by rottingdead »

I'm kinda depressed here, I use Linux, and not Windows, and was wondering what good it is in a Linux OS, if you can't export it in a Linux Friendly Format? All I can find is 3d studio max files, some weird .obj, once I learned a little bit more about Blender, and Qt, I highly doubt Qt supports .obj file formats for 3D Models. But I am waiting on a response from Qt Developers Forums about the file formats it supports for 3D Models, if all goes to worst, I can just use OpenGL, to make 3D Models, it's more tedious using OpenGL, and Blender would make it that much simpler.. Thanks !!

MadMesh
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by MadMesh »

Export "it"? What would "it" be, a 3D model maybe or an animation? You mention QT do you mean this http://qt.nokia.com/products/ or this http://www.apple.com/nl/quicktime/download/

Blender runs very well on Linux and to use it optimally you need a full installation of Python at specially if you are going to export 3D models.

rottingdead
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 pm

Post by rottingdead »

MadMesh wrote:Export "it"? What would "it" be, a 3D model maybe or an animation? You mention QT do you mean this http://qt.nokia.com/products/ or this http://www.apple.com/nl/quicktime/download/

Blender runs very well on Linux and to use it optimally you need a full installation of Python at specially if you are going to export 3D models.
Yes, a 3D Model made in Blender, and I do have Python installed, I'm still waiting on a response for Qt supported 3D Model File types.. If it'll support 3D Models exported as .py, awesome, =).

MadMesh
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by MadMesh »

http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2011/08/24/qt- ... ial-video/
Looks like .3DS is supported by QT from the video.

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

you need a full installation of Python at specially if you are going to export 3D models.
Blender 2.5x comes with its own copy of Python and a whole *bleep*load of import/export scripts. Some of them are native C/C++ and are found under the File menu. The others, written in Python, might need to be enabled in the User Prefs ->Add Ons menu.

rottingdead
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 pm

Post by rottingdead »

MadMesh wrote:http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2011/08/24/qt- ... ial-video/
Looks like .3DS is supported by QT from the video.
.3DS is 3D Max Studio, It's for Widows, I do not use Windows, if that sounde harsh, sorry, LOL.. It wasn't meant to sound harsh.. Anyway, I think I do recall seeing python in the export as Sub Menu. And still haven't receieved a response from Qt Dev Forums yet..

Tehrasha
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Post by Tehrasha »

I think you are getting various model formats and script languages mixed up.

Python is a scripting language which Blender and many of its plugins are written in. Current version of Blender does not require an installation of Python to operate. Blender does not export models in .py

.3ds is a 3D model format (from 3DSMax)

Make model in Blender, export in .3ds format (as shown in tutorial video)
Then import the .3ds model into QT (as shown in tutorial).

Some quick digging in the QT forums seems to indicate that it also supports .obj

rottingdead
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 pm

Post by rottingdead »

Tehrasha wrote:I think you are getting various model formats and script languages mixed up.

Python is a scripting language which Blender and many of its plugins are written in. Current version of Blender does not require an installation of Python to operate. Blender does not export models in .py

.3ds is a 3D model format (from 3DSMax)

Make model in Blender, export in .3ds format (as shown in tutorial video)
Then import the .3ds model into QT (as shown in tutorial).

Some quick digging in the QT forums seems to indicate that it also supports .obj
Weird, thanks, guess I'll have to go back to google basics, apparently I don't ko whow to use it, =P. I couldnt find anything in google about it supporting .obj. I tried using " " around the text I'm searching for, " " as most know, limits the search results.. Where's this Tutorial you're referring to?

Tehrasha
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:21 am
Location: Iowa

Post by Tehrasha »

rottingdead wrote:Where's this Tutorial you're referring to?
The tutorial video that MadMesh posted about

http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2011/08/24/qt- ... ial-video/

And I was searching the forums on the QT site for information about 3d model formats when I came across a post about .obj

http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/4488

rottingdead
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:33 pm

Post by rottingdead »

Tehrasha wrote:
rottingdead wrote:Where's this Tutorial you're referring to?
The tutorial video that MadMesh posted about

http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2011/08/24/qt- ... ial-video/

And I was searching the forums on the QT site for information about 3d model formats when I came across a post about .obj

http://developer.qt.nokia.com/forums/viewthread/4488
Sorry, there must be two pages, and I didn't notice.
Awesome, thanks, =). Bookmarked that page for later viewing..

Post Reply