Linux version 2.28c in trouble!!

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

Thanks guys. That was extremely useful. Like the joke says, there is good news and bad news. The good news is this seems to be a completely standard python installation with nothing missing or strange. The bad news is there is nothing missing or strange in the paths or modules which would explain the problems we ( meaning you ) are seeing.

The message 'import site' failed; use -v for traceback" is coming out of Python, not blender code. Looking at the Python source and playing around a bit, I was able to create the message on my box by setting the PYTHONHOME env var to some bad value.

Dittohead, if I could impose on you one more time, let us try another test.

1) from a command prompt, as a regular non-root user, do the command.
env | grep -i python

When you did it before, that was as root. The root account is often set up differently than a regular user so let's be sure.

2) from a command prompt, as a regular user, go to the directory where blender is installed and run the command
PYTHONHOME=/usr ./blender

No, that is not a typo. Using PYTHONHOME overrides the normal search for python libraries. Python itself will append the /lib/python2.2 part. Putting it all on one line just sets the env var for that command.

I am running an older version of Suse, but I will try to build a static executable with some extra debugging code. I hate mysteries.

Thanks.

thornae
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 11:53 am

Post by thornae »

Don't know if this is related or not, but more information can't hurt. I've been having segfaults myself, and I've put up the gdb output here.
...because I can!

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

thornae wrote: I've put up the gdb output here.
This looks to be something different. The Py_InitModule call in BGL_init is a place where we start passing around binary structs.

You are using Python 2.3. My guess is that there are some binary incompatibilites between blenders python 2.2 stuff and the new Python 2.3.

flb_z
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:51 am

Post by flb_z »

For Mandrake9.1 I use this line to start it, and it work...

PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2 ./blender
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Loading required GL library /usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2

But like you see site import failed again...

Like I said before In mandrake I use a lot of software that use Python and site-pack to! So, I dont tink it is a problem with python or bad env variable, the site-pack failed start whit release 2.28... :roll:
And segmentation fault start with 2.28c in adition of site import failed..

I wish these info will help...

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

flb_z wrote:PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2 ./blender
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Try setting your PYTHONHOME like this:

Code: Select all

PYTHONHOME=/usr
Do NOT set it to the complete path.
If I set my PYTHONHOME to the full path to the python install, I get the import site failed message, too.

The full command for your machine is

Code: Select all

PYTHONHOME=/usr  ./blender

dittohead
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 2:49 am

Post by dittohead »

Code: Select all

[nallworth@dittoBox nallworth]$ cd /home/nallworth/Blender/blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.2.5-i386/
[nallworth@dittoBox blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.2.5-i386]$ PYTHONHOME=/usr ./blender
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
[nallworth@dittoBox blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.2.5-i386]$

Code: Select all

[nallworth@dittoBox nallworth]$ env | grep -i python
PYTHONPATH=/usr/lib/python2.2:/usr/lib/python2.2/lib-tk:/usr/lib/python2.2/lib-dynload:/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages:/usr/lib/python2.2/plat-linux-i386:/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/Numeric:/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/PIL:/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/gtk-1.2
[nallworth@dittoBox nallworth]$
Commands done in reverse order.

I have the Core if you want it!!
dittohead

flb_z
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:51 am

Post by flb_z »

stiv wrote:
flb_z wrote:PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2 ./blender
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Try setting your PYTHONHOME like this:

Code: Select all

PYTHONHOME=/usr
Do NOT set it to the complete path.
If I set my PYTHONHOME to the full path to the python install, I get the import site failed message, too.

The full command for your machine is

Code: Select all

PYTHONHOME=/usr  ./blender

Ok here is commands and result: My Linux mandrake 9.1 box

PYTHONHOME=/usr/ ./blender
#segemtation fault + site-pack failed

PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2/ ./blender
# blender satrt and work fine; but site-pack failed

PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2/ ./blender
# blender satrt and work fine; but site-pack failed

PYTHONHOME=/usr/lib/python2.2/site-pack/ ./blender
# blender satrt and work fine; but site-pack failed

This is for blender 2.28c dynamic------------------

Now for Static 2.28c:
Bus error even no python message
noting show up ...

Tanks! Now I can run The version Cool (I sad that i can not use python but verry happy to have new radiosity) cool!

dittohead
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 2:49 am

Post by dittohead »

Non of those work for me.
dittohead

Jellybean
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 10:43 am

Post by Jellybean »

dittohead,
Try using this one I built from CVS (9/27). I wasn't able to get the download version working either. :(

blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i586.tar.bz2

flb_z
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 11:51 am

Post by flb_z »

[quote="Jellybean"[/quote]

Yes your compiled version is working whit my system cool!

PS: Jellybean, are you getting site-pack failed message? On my side this message persist...

python + blender both working!
I do:
PYTHONHOME=/usr /ARK/BIN/blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i586/blender

Just litlle message left:
Loading required GL library /usr/X11R6/lib/libGL.so.1.2
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".

May be, it is because I put my 3d accelaration off (got system freeze whit ati rage 128 2000 if accelerated Xf86server is on) I use SVG Xf86server instead...

pastorJohn
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:24 pm
Location: Wood Point, NB, Canada

2.28c now working in Linux Mandrake 9.1

Post by pastorJohn »

First: Thank you Jellybean exceedingly for posting a working compile. You da man! :D

When I run it in console from the command line, I get the following output:

[office@family blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i586]$ ./blender
guessing './blender' == '/home/office/Blender/blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i586/./blender'
Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".

When I run $ PYTHONHOME=/usr ./blender
I get:
guessing './blender' == '/home/office/Blender/blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i58 6/./blender'
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".


Is this what I should be getting?

John Kiehn
pastorJohn

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Re: 2.28c now working in Linux Mandrake 9.1

Post by stiv »

pastorJohn wrote:When I run $ PYTHONHOME=/usr ./blender
I get:
guessing './blender' == '/home/office/Blender/blender-2.28c-linux-glibc2.3.1-i58 6/./blender'
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
Blender is actually running ok on a Mandrake box? Praise be to $DEITY_OF_YOUR_CHOICE.

The line about 'guessing' is just an info message from blender about where it thinks your executable lives.

The line about 'DRI missing' is a warning from X-Windows that the Direct Rendering Interface extension isn't available/supported.

Post Reply