What is the status of OSX builds ?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

sgefant
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:10 am

Compiling Blender on OS X

Post by sgefant »

I'm using the version by desaster from http://nyarlathotep.dragonlight.fi/cgi- ... i/blender/

To build it, I had to install several packages with fink (http://fink.sourceforge.net/): libpng, libjpeg, openssl, python, and symlink some files from /sw (where fink installs to by default) to /usr (you could edit the top level makefile to use /sw instead of /usr, as well). On my system, it looks like this:

/usr/lib/libcrypto.a -> /sw/lib/libcrypto.a
/usr/lib/libjpeg.a -> /sw/lib/libjpeg.a
/usr/lib/libpng.a -> /sw/lib/libpng.a
/usr/lib/python2.2 -> /sw/lib/python2.2
/usr/include/jconfig.h -> /sw/include/jconfig.h
/usr/include/jerror.h -> /sw/include/jerror.h
/usr/include/jmorecfg.h -> /sw/include/jmorecfg.h
/usr/include/jpeglib.h -> /sw/include/jpeglib.h
/usr/include/png.h -> /sw/include/png.h
/usr/include/pngconf.h -> /sw/include/pngconf.h
/usr/include/python2.2 -> /sw/include/python2.2

(I'm not sure if these links are really neccesary, as /sw/bin should already be in your path)
/usr/bin/pydoc -> /sw/bin/pydoc
/usr/bin/python -> /sw/bin/python
/usr/bin/python2.2 -> /sw/bin/python2.2
/usr/bin/pythonx -> /sw/bin/pythonx

10.2 seems to come with its own version of python, however some needed files appear to be missing from it. So I just removed Apple's version and used the one from fink instead.
Obviously, you'll need the Developer Tools from Apple as well. After installing everything needed, just type "make" in the directory where you put the sources to compile blender.

Unfortunately, I don't have any webspace where I could upload a binary package. If you just want to use blender, you're better off getting NaN's Publisher 2.25 from this site, anyways.

I'm sure I've forgotten something...
sgefant

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

Well that sure helps. !
You realy should anouce it really load !!!!
So All Can See And Not Wonder About ! ! !

^v^

VelikM
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:18 am

Post by VelikM »

sgefant:
Thanks for posting the info. :D I would have said so sooner, but have been really sick,:cry: including a trip to the emergency room, so haven't been up to much more than checking the e-mail. I'll try to get it to compile some time in the next week, when my brain starts to work again, if it will work again that is. Will I know :?: .

antont
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 6:52 pm

an error

Post by antont »

I couldn't figure out if this is actually the error, but all the others seem to be just warnings:

/usr/include/gcc/darwin/3.1/g++-v3/bits/stl_threads.h: At global scope:
initializer for member `_opaque_pthread_mutex_t::opaque'
make[2]: *** [/Volumes/MacintoshHD/Users/antont/Desktop/install/blender/obj//darwin-6.1-powerpc/intern/moto/MT_CmMatrix4x4.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [all] Error 1

Would appreciate if there was a binary available compiled with 10.2, to see if that'd help with my performance problems when using the 2.3 and 2.5 (built under 10.1) from NaN.

~Toni

epimetrias
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:42 am

Post by epimetrias »

It seems I don't have /usr/lib/libcrypto.a even though I do have /usr/lib/libcrypto.dylib and /usr/lib/libcrypto.0.9.dylib. As a result, compiling ends with this error:

gcc -L/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Libraries -o /Users/admin/Desktop/blender/obj//darwin-6.1-powerpc/intern/blenkey/keyloader /Users/admin/Desktop/blender/obj//darwin-6.1-powerpc/intern/blenkey/keyloader.o /Users/admin/Desktop/blender/obj//darwin-6.1-powerpc/intern/blenkey/libblenkey.a /usr/lib/libcrypto.a
gcc: /usr/lib/libcrypto.a: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [/Users/admin/Desktop/blender/obj//darwin-6.1-powerpc/intern/blenkey/keyloader] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/Users/admin/Desktop/blender/intern/keymaker'
make: *** [interndir] Error 1

nutville
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by nutville »

Hi there,

Are you guys working with the regular CVS tree? I have massaged the Makefiles and source a bit and posted a version to the cvs01 tree that
should compile on OSX 10.2 Jaguar boxes if you follow the directions in
the readme.txt. At least at the moment, I have a working setup with ODE
physics and I added fmod sound as well.

Maarten

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! »

ooo cool physics
can you post a build to ton?

^v^

ephemeron
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 3:39 am

Post by ephemeron »

I have OS X 10.2, installed fink, installed all the packages in the readme, built the python stuff, and set the user-settings file in ODE to PLATFORM=osx....yet the build fails:

cc -c -Wall -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -Wall -I/usr/X11R6/include -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math -Iinclude -DdNODEBUG -O2 -o drawstuff/src/drawstuff.o drawstuff/src/drawstuff.cpp
drawstuff/src/drawstuff.cpp:44:19: GL/gl.h: No such file or directory

I noticed that it's apparently trying to include files from /usr/X11R6/include...yet i've set it PLATFORM=osx...inside the makefile.osx file it still seems to reference X11 stuff....do I need X installed? That's not in the readme.

sgefant
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:10 am

Post by sgefant »

ephemeron wrote:I have OS X 10.2, installed fink, installed all the packages in the readme, built the python stuff, and set the user-settings file in ODE to PLATFORM=osx....yet the build fails:

cc -c -Wall -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -Wall -I/usr/X11R6/include -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math -Iinclude -DdNODEBUG -O2 -o drawstuff/src/drawstuff.o drawstuff/src/drawstuff.cpp
drawstuff/src/drawstuff.cpp:44:19: GL/gl.h: No such file or directory

I noticed that it's apparently trying to include files from /usr/X11R6/include...yet i've set it PLATFORM=osx...inside the makefile.osx file it still seems to reference X11 stuff....do I need X installed? That's not in the readme.
what i did was (as root):
cd /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework
ln -s Headers GL

hope this helps,
sgefant

nutville
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by nutville »

Yes, that's right, I forgot about the ode opengl headers thing. The ln -s thing is the best solution if you don't have X darwin installed (which was on my system so I did not notice).
Maarten

bootsch
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:40 pm

Build fails on fmod

Post by bootsch »

Hi Maarten,

I'm still working to get Blender building on my Jaquar (10.2.2) box
but fail now at some fmod.h include

Code: Select all

In file included from SND_DeviceManager.cpp:41:
../fmod/SND_FmodDevice.h:35:18: fmod.h: No such file or directory
In file included from SND_DeviceManager.cpp:41:
../fmod/SND_FmodDevice.h:94: syntax error before `*' token
../fmod/SND_FmodDevice.h:95: syntax error before `*' token
../fmod/SND_FmodDevice.h:96: syntax error before `*' token
make[3]: *** [/Users/bootsch/src/Blender/blender/obj/darwin-6.2-powerpc/gameengine/SoundSystem/SND_DeviceManager.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/Users/bootsch/src/Blender/blender/source/gameengine/SoundSystem/intern'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/Users/bootsch/src/Blender/blender/source/gameengine/SoundSystem'
make[1]: *** [all] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/Users/bootsch/src/Blender/blender/source/gameengine'
make: *** [all] Error 1
make: Leaving directory `/Users/bootsch/src/Blender/blender/source'
Someone (Sateh) said he posted a some patches for building on OSX -
but I couldn't find any.

Bootsch

bootsch
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:40 pm

Parallel discussions - OSX port and here

Post by bootsch »

Hmm,

there are two separate threads discussing the OSX port issues -
kindda confusing (mind if we call you Bruce)

just noting

kanzeon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 10:48 am

I'm really happy couse, I compile blender in Jaguar.

Post by kanzeon »

Finally I had time to try compile Blender. And I success. I get de CVS Tree version, and follow the instructions, it was a little tricky. There are lot of place with:
#include <GL/gl.h>
and I change it for the

#ifdef __APPLE__
# include <OpenGL/gl.h>
#else
...
And at the end, the readme file, advise of a ranlib error. but after running ranlib, I have to execute "make link" instead of "make".
This is all I do. I'm really happpy and I have to share it with someone. If somebody, have troubles, I'll be glad to help.

kanzeon@softhome.net

bootsch
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:40 pm

Congratulations

Post by bootsch »

Good to hear the succes

Did you have trouble with the fmod.h include somewhere?
If so, how did you work around it?

I don't have much time to dig around in the code and just want to have
a version that compiles out of the box. Just hit make and go

:wink:

Who is now able to commit to the CVS tree?
Maarten? other people?

kanzeon
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 10:48 am

Re: Congratulations

Post by kanzeon »

Yes, it's true and I forgot to tell it. I have troubles with python and fmod. The readme file says that you have to create some directories and and put the python and fmod, includes and lib files in it.

$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc/python/include/python2.2
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc/python/lib/python2.2/config
and
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc/fmod/include
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc/fmod/lib

Well these didn't work for me, I had to rename to

$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.0-powerpc/python/include/python2.2
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.0-powerpc/python/lib/python2.2/config
and
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.0-powerpc/fmod/include
$NANBLENDERHOME/lib/darwin-6.0-powerpc/fmod/lib

that's all.

Post Reply