Blender on a laptop?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Curious
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:30 pm

Blender on a laptop?

Post by Curious » Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:34 pm

Hi,
Can Blender be used on a laptop? Is there anything special that I should look for in a laptop if I'm going to use if for creating with Blender, Python, etc?

Just Curious!

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! » Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:55 pm

Get an iBook . Works great on an I book. Or a new age windows nothing older though for windows.

danifou
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Works great on Eurocom 888ES

Post by danifou » Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:50 pm

Got a Eurocom 888ES with a 16.1-inch SXGA (1280x1024) Active Matrix Display, 512 MB RAM,ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 and running 2.4 GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 processor- They call it the dream machine and Blender works great on it (all version) :P

danifou

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:06 pm

If you can get one with a geForce GO, nVidia has better 2D openGL support than ATI (and better Linux drivers, if that's important for you).

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

Curious
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:30 pm

Post by Curious » Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:08 pm

But can it run on an affordable Windows laptop? $1892 is almost twice what I was looking to spend! :cry:

slikdigit
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Northampton, MA (US)

Post by slikdigit » Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:43 pm

It'll probably 'run' on most windows laptops- but save yourself from grief, and make sure that you get one with an nvidia or ati graphics chip, (radeon or geforce) and that its not an sma (shared memory architecture) based machine. You can probably find one for less than 1800.

danifou
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 16, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

This is what I've done

Post by danifou » Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:43 am

beforre buying my laptop, got Blender burned on a CD with a few files from the guide CD and tried out a demo laptop from Eurocom. Since Blender can be executed from a CD without being installed on the machine, I've had the opportunity to test and see Blender performed on the laptop.

danifou

nay
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 1:56 am
Location: sydney, australia
Contact:

Post by nay » Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:17 am

if you're testing a laptop, grab blender 2.25 and a game file to test the 3d acceleration, thats the first thing i do whenever setting up a new machine for blender.

or maybe just one of the runtime files form blender3d.org

a while back i was running linux on a machine with an ati card and the acceleration only worked well with the runtimes, not when playing the game inside blender (i THINK it was the dynamic version)

matt_e
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by matt_e » Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:52 am

I'm now running blender on a Powerbook G4 1.25Ghz / ATI Radeon mobility 9600. Runs fine, except for a slight problem in displaying the AA fonts (presumably a driver issue) and the lack of support for OpenGL antialiased polygons (also presumable a driver issue).

A feature that may be useful to know is the 'Emulate NumPad' user preference, which lets you use the top row of number keys as if it was the numeric keypad on a normal keyboard.

slikdigit
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Northampton, MA (US)

Post by slikdigit » Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:44 am

I'm running blender on the older version of this http://www.m-techlaptops.com/specificat ... ch5600.htm
Its a big, heavy workhorse and the new version has even better 3d than mine (I only have a lowly radeon 7500 -sob-) Its a fairly generic machine made by clevo, you can find it in europe under the promedion brand, in us under m-tech, prostar, sager, alienware (m-51- expensive), etc. I got mine from m-tech 'cuz they sell it without an OS and I run linux. (no experience with linux drivers and the newer radeon, my older one runs fine)

Ringo7
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:42 am
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida USA

Re: Blender on a laptop?

Post by Ringo7 » Thu Dec 11, 2003 2:20 am

Curious wrote:Hi,
Can Blender be used on a laptop? Is there anything special that I should look for in a laptop if I'm going to use if for creating with Blender, Python, etc?

Just Curious!
Runs great on my old Dell Notebook (P4-1.3/512). In fact, we've been running all the Blender presentation animations on this thing for the last two years without a hitch!

ruedebeuk
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 9:35 pm

Post by ruedebeuk » Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:53 pm

I've recently bought a Promedion D500P with a ATI mobility radeon 9600. So far Blender 2.28 runs like a charm (I just use the drivers that came with the machine).

The Promedion is sold in many countries under different brand-names, such as eurocom, sager, etc. The manufacturer of this machine is clevo (www.clevo.com.tw).

Greetz,

Erwin

jo
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:49 pm

Post by jo » Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:53 pm

I have an acer travelmate 800 with a 1,6 ghz pentium m processor, a ati mobility 9000 and 1400 x 1050 pixel display. i don't have any problems, the only thin i miss is a numpad.

Curious
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:30 pm

Post by Curious » Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:43 pm

Thanks! That's great info!
:D

tredee
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:13 am

Post by tredee » Sun Dec 14, 2003 3:47 pm

Don't buy anything with on board an ATI IGP 4XX ... nVidia it is a good choice ...

Andrea
(some one who got an ATI IGP card ... Doh!!!)

Post Reply