Page 1 of 2

Blender on a laptop?

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:34 pm
by Curious
Hi,
Can Blender be used on a laptop? Is there anything special that I should look for in a laptop if I'm going to use if for creating with Blender, Python, etc?

Just Curious!

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 1:55 pm
by Money_YaY!
Get an iBook . Works great on an I book. Or a new age windows nothing older though for windows.

Works great on Eurocom 888ES

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:50 pm
by danifou
Got a Eurocom 888ES with a 16.1-inch SXGA (1280x1024) Active Matrix Display, 512 MB RAM,ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 and running 2.4 GHz IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® 4 processor- They call it the dream machine and Blender works great on it (all version) :P

danifou

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:06 pm
by theeth
If you can get one with a geForce GO, nVidia has better 2D openGL support than ATI (and better Linux drivers, if that's important for you).

Martin

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:08 pm
by Curious
But can it run on an affordable Windows laptop? $1892 is almost twice what I was looking to spend! :cry:

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 3:43 pm
by slikdigit
It'll probably 'run' on most windows laptops- but save yourself from grief, and make sure that you get one with an nvidia or ati graphics chip, (radeon or geforce) and that its not an sma (shared memory architecture) based machine. You can probably find one for less than 1800.

This is what I've done

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:43 am
by danifou
beforre buying my laptop, got Blender burned on a CD with a few files from the guide CD and tried out a demo laptop from Eurocom. Since Blender can be executed from a CD without being installed on the machine, I've had the opportunity to test and see Blender performed on the laptop.

danifou

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 1:17 am
by nay
if you're testing a laptop, grab blender 2.25 and a game file to test the 3d acceleration, thats the first thing i do whenever setting up a new machine for blender.

or maybe just one of the runtime files form blender3d.org

a while back i was running linux on a machine with an ati card and the acceleration only worked well with the runtimes, not when playing the game inside blender (i THINK it was the dynamic version)

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 4:52 am
by matt_e
I'm now running blender on a Powerbook G4 1.25Ghz / ATI Radeon mobility 9600. Runs fine, except for a slight problem in displaying the AA fonts (presumably a driver issue) and the lack of support for OpenGL antialiased polygons (also presumable a driver issue).

A feature that may be useful to know is the 'Emulate NumPad' user preference, which lets you use the top row of number keys as if it was the numeric keypad on a normal keyboard.

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:44 am
by slikdigit
I'm running blender on the older version of this http://www.m-techlaptops.com/specificat ... ch5600.htm
Its a big, heavy workhorse and the new version has even better 3d than mine (I only have a lowly radeon 7500 -sob-) Its a fairly generic machine made by clevo, you can find it in europe under the promedion brand, in us under m-tech, prostar, sager, alienware (m-51- expensive), etc. I got mine from m-tech 'cuz they sell it without an OS and I run linux. (no experience with linux drivers and the newer radeon, my older one runs fine)

Re: Blender on a laptop?

Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 2:20 am
by Ringo7
Curious wrote:Hi,
Can Blender be used on a laptop? Is there anything special that I should look for in a laptop if I'm going to use if for creating with Blender, Python, etc?

Just Curious!
Runs great on my old Dell Notebook (P4-1.3/512). In fact, we've been running all the Blender presentation animations on this thing for the last two years without a hitch!

Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:53 pm
by ruedebeuk
I've recently bought a Promedion D500P with a ATI mobility radeon 9600. So far Blender 2.28 runs like a charm (I just use the drivers that came with the machine).

The Promedion is sold in many countries under different brand-names, such as eurocom, sager, etc. The manufacturer of this machine is clevo (www.clevo.com.tw).

Greetz,

Erwin

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 4:53 pm
by jo
I have an acer travelmate 800 with a 1,6 ghz pentium m processor, a ati mobility 9000 and 1400 x 1050 pixel display. i don't have any problems, the only thin i miss is a numpad.

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:43 pm
by Curious
Thanks! That's great info!
:D

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 3:47 pm
by tredee
Don't buy anything with on board an ATI IGP 4XX ... nVidia it is a good choice ...

Andrea
(some one who got an ATI IGP card ... Doh!!!)