xgrid for mac os x - distributed rendering possiblities

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Crasty
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:41 pm

xgrid for mac os x - distributed rendering possiblities

Post by Crasty » Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:27 pm

For us mac os x users Apple who have access to more than one computer has released xgrid - www.apple.com/acg/xgrid/

It won't work with blender yet and i haven't read the development docs but I wonder what can be done for distrubuted rendering?

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! » Mon Jan 12, 2004 2:11 pm

Oooo that would be really nice.

knoxer
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 5:56 pm

Post by knoxer » Mon Jan 12, 2004 5:50 pm

That would rock. The best part about Xgrid is that it uses Rendezvous (zero conf) to automatically find and connect to any other computers running Xgrid. It even knows how much processing power is available on each computer and splits up the job accordingly. It collects and assembles the pieces for you when the job is done too. It's idiot-proof clustering!

Money_YaY!
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:47 pm

Post by Money_YaY! » Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:40 pm

knoxer wrote:That would rock. The best part about Xgrid is that it uses Rendezvous (zero conf) to automatically find and connect to any other computers running Xgrid. It even knows how much processing power is available on each computer and splits up the job accordingly. It collects and assembles the pieces for you when the job is done too. It's idiot-proof clustering!

Perfect for me :D

somazero
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:12 pm

Old thread, but...

Post by somazero » Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:17 pm

Well, after looking for quite a while - I finally figured out how to use Blender with an Xgrid on MacOS X 10.4. If you're interested, please take a look at my howto at:

http://iwhir.net/?q=node/5

Let me know what you think...

Thanks!

czeky
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:26 am

Anyone lucky w Xgrid and Tiger?

Post by czeky » Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:49 am

that site is down …-(

render works perfectly in command line, but whe using xgrid.. i'm getting this

powerbook:~ user$ xgrid -h powerbook.local -job run /Applications/blender/blender.app/Contents/MacOS/blender -b ~/test2.blend -f 1
Compiled with Python version 2.3.5.
Checking for installed Python... got it!
$HOME is NOT set
$HOME is NOT set
Loading /Users/czeky/test2.blend failed: Unable to open
ERROR: No camera



many thanx for a help

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Anyone lucky w Xgrid and Tiger?

Post by jesterKing » Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:45 pm

czeky wrote: Loading /Users/czeky/test2.blend failed: Unable to open
Make sure your test2.blend is actually in that location.

/Nathan

czeky
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:26 am

yes

Post by czeky » Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:42 pm

yes, it is, rendering this command without xgrid part of the syntax renders just fine

just wondering, if its not because I don't have a shared volume mounted on all of the clients..

should I have blender installed on all machines in the same path? (I have) and should I have fg. NFS Shared volume for all the clients to access .blend file and to write a rendered frames?

many thanx

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:52 pm

I'm not familiar with this particular solution, but from what I can gather, yes.

/Nathan

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:05 pm

disclaimer: not an OSXer and never used xgrid

However, I would expect that all machines in the cluster need to be able to see /Users/czeky if they are going to open the file.

The "$HOME is NOT set" msg is the result of a missing environment variable that is normally set for processes. Blender is trying to evaluatle $HOME/.blender for finding python scripts.

Post Reply