Page 3 of 5

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 9:22 pm
by ideasman
I like this guitargeek, Just saying I agree... ;)
- Cam[/code]

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:32 pm
by Money_YaY!
guitargeek wrote:Ok, by making transform() return a short (1 for not cancelled and 0 for cancelled) instead of void, extrude_mesh() can now check if the transform was completed or not. If it was completed, I just popped the 'extrude' step from the history. Otherwise the new points are placed in their new positions and only 1 step is put in the history called 'extrude'. and there is no 'Extrude' popup either. Would you like me to commit this to tuhopuu so you can check it out? I tried a little modelling with it, and it speeds up workflow IMHO.

Can you make a patch file ?????

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 10:53 pm
by chrismontijn
guitargeek wrote:...

Would you like me to commit this to tuhopuu so you can check it out? I tried a little modelling with it, and it speeds up workflow IMHO.
Yes! I have never build Blender myself, but it would be a good opportunity. If i do not succed, I pick the next build from the "Testing Builds" forum. Thanx very much, guitargeek!

Chris

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:01 pm
by guitargeek
Ok here is a patch off the 2004-01-20 CVS checkout. Also check the testing builds dir for a windows copy of tuhopuu built with this extrude method.

http://www.gvc.net/~jmatthews/blender/e ... rude.patch

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:31 pm
by chrismontijn
guitargeek wrote:Ok here is a patch off the 2004-01-20 CVS checkout. Also check the testing builds dir for a windows copy of tuhopuu built with this extrude method.

...
Just tried your build and it works perfectly for me. I hope this patch finds its way into Blender 2.32!

Thanx again.

Chris

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:36 pm
by guitargeek
If I don't get any objections from the blender gods, I may commit this to tuhopuu tonight.

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 2:35 am
by TorQ
I still don't understand how you move without extruding. Can someone enlighten me? Thanks.

Matt

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:17 am
by guitargeek
This is all surface level modification. When you press E, the extruded verts are created at their original location. Then immediately goes into grab mode for those new verts. So if you actually want to leave them there, you would do best to hold CTRL to keep the verts locked closer. I'm not sure I quite understand what you mean by
move without extruding
, but I hope this helps a little.

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:45 pm
by beatabix
one Q:
With this modification, is it still possible to switch tranform modes with GRS?
I use extrude scale almost as much as extrude grab (perhaps more than), so this is integral to my workflow with blender mesh editing.

later
BEAT

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:04 pm
by guitargeek
Old workflow

User-> EKEY

POPUP Extrude?
No->Nothing Happens
Yes->Verts Duplicated

Verts Grabbed
Cancelled-->Verts go to starting point and are still duplicated
Left Click (G,S,R) -->Transformed via Grab,Rotate,Scale

New Workflow

User-> EKEY
Verts Duplicated
Verts Grabbed
Cancelled-->Grab and Duplicate are undone leaving the WHOLE extrude action cancelled.
Left Click (G,S,R) -->Transformed via Grab,Rotate,Scale as normal

The key parts that have been removed are the Extrude Popup and the ability to cancel the grab and keep the duplicated verts (now you constrain to the starting point with CTRL and click) I felt this change unififed the tool into a one-step tool.

Does this make sense?

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:29 pm
by theeth
Just clarifying a little point here.

Saying that Extrude duplicate vertices is a bit far from the truth. To be more precise, it's more like using the Split function and linking the edges of the new area to the old by faces.

Martin

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:40 pm
by guitargeek
Thanks for keeping me honest :)

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:22 pm
by Money_YaY!
guitargeek
Can you make a mode that lets it continute to extrude like the armatures ?

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:37 pm
by guitargeek
Yes, but there is a problem with that, in the workflow you only get 1 transform before the action is complete. Therefore in a continuos mode, you would extrude and only be able to Grab,Rotate or Scale one time before extruding again unless it was preprogrammed to allow for say 2 transforms of your choice before extruding again. See what I mean? If you just did a bunch of continuous extrudes (with grab) on a face, you would end up with a line of faces all the same size, pointing the same direction, just in different posisions. I think there is a posibility here, but the workflow would need to be hammered out, perhaps something like this would unify the whole tool.

---EDIT---

E --> First Extrude in Grab Mode
G,S,R --> to change transform mode
Left Click --> confirm transform and STOP (this is the normal workflow)
Shift Click --> confirm transform and start a new extrude
Alt Click --> confirm transform and start another transform
Right Click or Esc --> Cancel last Extrude and all transforms after it

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 6:42 pm
by dcuny
It would be nice if the "hidden" Extrude options appeared in the menu, instead of being hidden in hotkeys as they currently are. How about adding:
  • Free
  • Along Normal
  • X
  • Y
  • Z
like they are in Wings3D? If nothing else, Along Normal should be added to the menu.