Emergency: Accidentally deleted workmesh: Help?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Emergency: Accidentally deleted workmesh: Help?

Post by JoOngle » Thu Feb 05, 2004 7:18 pm

I've just worked 7 hours in a stretch on an ear for my head-model
And i was about to clean up and press the "reference-plane-picture"
to delete it...but it deleted my entire mesh instead.

Any way to get it back? I have not closed the program yet.
Please don't tell me that I just lost 7 hours of work
because there are no delete-undo button?

*Edit*
I checked the temp directory, but it has somehow been oversaved
by the 5-minute autosave function - so blender magically
saved the blank file over the work. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH



/JoOngle
Last edited by JoOngle on Thu Feb 05, 2004 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Thu Feb 05, 2004 7:33 pm

You didn't loose the mesh yet, you only deleted the object and unlinked the data.

You just need to create a new object (a Mesh) and relink to the correct data.

Image
Any datablock that is unlinked will have a 0 before its name. This might help you find the correct one if you didn't name it properly.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Thu Feb 05, 2004 7:56 pm

No, it's gone. The TMP file that it saved over contains just
the reference picture of the ear that I drew after (a single plane)
the object however is lost...no links to it :(

Thanks anyway, Now I can learn to SLAVICALLY make backups
each and every hour instead of just nerding around the clock.

I made the PERFECT ear...and I even fell down the stairs today
(don't mind my ranting, I'm having ONE bad day)

Cheers and thanks for helping.

/JoOngle

SirDude
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Post by SirDude » Thu Feb 05, 2004 8:20 pm

Just think the second one will be even better ;)

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Thu Feb 05, 2004 8:26 pm

True :) - It's just one of those days I guess. ;)

Cheers
/JoOngle

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Sat Feb 07, 2004 12:50 am

JoOngle wrote:No, it's gone. The TMP file that it saved ...
That was your fatal error.. in the moment that you try (and succed) to open another file, any un-linked mesh data from the file you were previously working on is lost forever.

The right thing to do (if it ever happens to you again) is: after you delete the valuable mesh, inmediately create a new one (a cube, i.e.), select the cube and do exactly as theeth told you... BUT DO NOT TRY TO OPEN ANOTHER FILE.

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sat Feb 07, 2004 2:49 am

While this might be true Apollux, the "safe" way to deal with this
issue might be to save 3-5 "last-versions" of the currently edited-mesh
"example: blenderfile4283-ver-1.blend" etc. each five minutes.
3dstudio max does this (saves 3 versions behind...such as a history-save"
thus making sure that at least ONE of those files contains the lost
history.

take care,

Tommy
"Blender apostle - forever!"

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d » Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:17 pm

JoOngle wrote:While this might be true Apollux, the "safe" way to deal with this
issue might be to save 3-5 "last-versions" of the currently edited-mesh
"example: blenderfile4283-ver-1.blend" etc. each five minutes.
3dstudio max does this (saves 3 versions behind...such as a history-save"
thus making sure that at least ONE of those files contains the lost
history.

take care,

Tommy
"Blender apostle - forever!"
blender does this too

(adjustable how many)
they are different by the extensions

blenderfile.blend <- newest
blenderfile.blend1 <- previous
blenderfile.blend2 <- before that (must increase number for versions to go this far, default goes back only 1)

ilac
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:24 am

Post by ilac » Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:37 pm

z3r0_d wrote:
JoOngle wrote:While this might be true Apollux, the "safe" way to deal with this
issue might be to save 3-5 "last-versions" of the currently edited-mesh
"example: blenderfile4283-ver-1.blend" etc. each five minutes.
3dstudio max does this (saves 3 versions behind...such as a history-save"
thus making sure that at least ONE of those files contains the lost
history.

take care,

Tommy
"Blender apostle - forever!"
blender does this too

(adjustable how many)
they are different by the extensions

blenderfile.blend <- newest
blenderfile.blend1 <- previous
blenderfile.blend2 <- before that (must increase number for versions to go this far, default goes back only 1)
Though, afaik, in blender 'versions' only works for manual saves but not for autosaving. ie. autosaves saves to the same temp file. So you cannot have it save a different version every five-minutes automatically.

Post Reply