parallel computing + blender internal rendering=upcoming?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Goeland86
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:40 pm

parallel computing + blender internal rendering=upcoming?

Post by Goeland86 » Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:55 pm

Has anybody else ever had a cluster available and wished blender could include PVM ditribution for rendering? I personally have access to a 12 box linux cluster, one master node running debian, and the 11 others booting as diskless workstations through ltsp.

Can, or has anyone ever considered adding the little bit of code to the rendering engine to use the pvm librairies? Currently I have to export the blender animations with the povanim script to render them across the cluster with pvmpovray, an unofficial patch for povray3.5c.
It is a little annoying of having to export through povanim, as many settings are lost, and it sometimes creates directories that are over 1.99 GB (personal experience!!!) for animations.

A blender file on the other hand is 1.5MB, and blender can render from the command line.
Is there maybe another parallel computing library that can be used in blender? I know yafray supports openmosix... but I'm not too enthusiastic about openmosix (don't know how to set it up...).

Thanks for any help.
I am no programmer, therefore I don't know or understand the entire implications of implementing that...
Hope someone else thinks it's a feature worth having and starts looking into that as well...

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Sat Feb 28, 2004 9:08 pm

Same here...

I've been offered to use ALL of our office and user-computers
at work (nighttime) with an FTP setup so I can render like crazy
if I want to (weeee!) But doh...How do I multi-render with Blender?
Network rendering? how?

I'd LOVE to be able to do this via FTP or TelNet...
It's like having access to a supercomputer..

/Tommy

S68
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 12:58 pm

Post by S68 » Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:45 am

I have a linux cluster with PVM.

I've written a script top distribute rendering, actually it does not care of PVM, but uses rsh to launch separate chunks of an animation on separate machine.

Grab it at www.selleri.org/Blender

in the script section

Stefano

JoOngle
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:12 pm
Contact:

Post by JoOngle » Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:16 pm

S68 - that would be really useful with an animation..

But - In my case it's a very "heavy" still image that I'm trying to get rendered with Yafray...unfortunately not even a 3 ghz P-4 with all
the memory in the world managed to get this scene trough the
first pass....

Image

I rendered the above in one hour with the internal Renderer...

But yafray worked on it for 4 Days on 5 computers (different speeds
and settings)...and didnt even manage to get trough the first
render pass...:(

/Tommy

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten » Mon Mar 01, 2004 6:28 pm

S68 wrote:I have a linux cluster with PVM.

I've written a script top distribute rendering, actually it does not care of PVM, but uses rsh to launch separate chunks of an animation on separate machine.

Grab it at www.selleri.org/Blender

in the script section

Stefano
hey friend ;)

I noted that your link was wrong so I took the freedom to correct it for you... it said '.oerg' first...and I changed it to '.org'


cheers! ;)

Apollux
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 4:27 am
Location: Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Post by Apollux » Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:37 am

I was about to recomend DrQueu, but the web-site seems to be down.

http://www.blender.org/modules.php?op=m ... =0&thold=0

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by kidb » Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:23 pm

JoOngle wrote:
But yafray worked on it for 4 Days on 5 computers (different speeds
and settings)...and didnt even manage to get trough the first
render pass...:(

/Tommy
Could i have the xml file for testing purposes, or another time intensive yafray-testfile. I am working on a blenderrenderopenmosixknoppixcluster-cd.
kid.b@t-online.de for the xml and spam =8-)). Or can you post a link for downloading? Aehmm, please.

enigmasoldier
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 4:05 pm

Openmosix for the not so openmosix inclined

Post by enigmasoldier » Wed Mar 03, 2004 10:49 am

The Clusterknoppix project is pretty sweet:
http://bofh.be/clusterknoppix/

Not only is the software great, but so is the webdesign (I did the webdesign)

It makes setting up a cluster easy for anyone and I have been using it before I got deployed.

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Openmosix for the not so openmosix inclined

Post by kidb » Wed Mar 03, 2004 11:00 am

enigmasoldier wrote:The Clusterknoppix project is pretty sweet:
http://bofh.be/clusterknoppix/
Yep, i try to put it all together, removing stuff, which the real Blenderer does not need, and adding things like transcode, ffmpeg, so that you only put your .blend in a directory, and get later your ready-to-burn movie.
To test the posiblity of distributing yafrays render tasks, i should have a yafray-testfile, which takes hours on one pc.

JWalton
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:39 pm
Contact:

Post by JWalton » Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:33 pm

i used mosix with blender before it was openmosix, and it worked very well.

Post Reply