Blender or...

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

umm

Blender or...

Post by umm »

Hello I am new to blender and have to say that I find it INCREDIBLY complicated and confusing to use.
After an hour work I managed to put in an object, but I cant zoom in yet, I dont know why if I click on it it sometimes rotates or other times moves and why I cannot select the object which has been initially there.

Then I am asking myself: Why does that MS-Dos screen have to be open when I use blender? It only tells me:
"import site" failed; use -v for traceback
sys_init:warning - no sitedirs added from site module.

with that blender, my initial feeling is: I dont want to use it any more. Too complicated and my Bryce is just working fine and easy enough to handle for stupid people like me.

SirDude

Post by SirDude »

You should use the application that works best for what
you want to do.

Blender has a lot of features and is a very complicated package to use. Its something that you going to have to invest a couple of hours learning how to use if you really want to use the program.

You should really sit down with the manual and or online tutorials and get the hang of the program before trying to just do a project.

Here are some great links to get you started if you want to continue learning blender:
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Using_Blender.80.0.html

umm

Post by umm »

Thanks for your quick answer,
BTW do you know why I get that MS-Dos screen (see my first post)? It bugs me and if I close it then the blender also shuts down?

SirDude

Post by SirDude »

Sorry skipped that. Thats a console window that will sometimes print out error messages. It's mostly for debugging purposes, it was taken out a while back and everyone complained so it was added back in.

You can safely minimize it and just ignore it if you want to.

umm

Post by umm »

Thanks.

loos

Videos, videos, videos!

Post by loos »