Would you pay for online rendering service?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

pearl

Would you pay for online rendering service?

Post by pearl »

With the growing popularity of Blender/Yafray, it makes me wonder if there are artists or studios out there who would be willing to pay for rendering services. Would you be willing to pay for rendering service for Blender/Yafray?

JoOngle

Post by JoOngle »

Probably not - unless the prices where really low and bandwith really
high. Most online renderfarms for other software today are so expensive
that as a hobbyist I wouldn't even consider it.

But I'm no hobbyist anymore (well - a little) I do work with Blender
at work every day and yet I've not encountered a situation when I
needed an online renderfarm.

If it comes to that - I'd probably just purchase a bunch of cheap
bamboo-computers (they're dirt cheap these days) and render from
there.

The only reason I could come up for the need for a renderfarm
(with a HUGE lot of computers) would be if I where to make a
high-quality cartoon series with raytracing involved - then It'd make
sense with an online renderfarm.

But that's just my opinion about it.

joeri

Post by joeri »

Not very likely.
The price needs to be under buying gear myself.

JWalton

Post by JWalton »

you can find renderfarm time on ebay.
check pricing.

joeri, reasonable renderfarm is 3-4euro's. electricity should not be ignored 1 week of rendering is pretty expessive to power.

emack

Post by emack »

When I have tried pricing on existing renderfarms (e.g. rendercore.com), I found that one sizeable job (600 frames, 30 minutes/frame) ended up being approximately the cost of buying another computer to help ($800-$1000 USD). It gets done faster on the online renderfarm, but if the job can be done overnight with a spare machine or two it is not very attractive.

Arathorn

Post by Arathorn »