Google summer of code. make $4500!

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

SamAdam

Google summer of code. make $4500!

Post by SamAdam » Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:41 am

Okay, look at this: http://code.google.com/summerofcode.pdf

check it out. some people may be able to fit blender into that and make some money.

ton should look at http://code.google.com/mentfaq.html

from google:
The program is designed to give computer science, and other, students a stipend ($4500) while they learn to release and create open source software. We're working with a variety of Open Source software foundations and organizations and we hope to sign up around 200 developers.

Sprite

Post by Sprite » Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:31 am

As a computer science student, I've been interested in Blender's development and lurked around the "how to contribute" pages. This sounds like the perfect incentive to get into gear and help with Blender's code (and eventually Blender/open-source graphics evangelism in Berkeley's CS department).

Would the Blender Foundation consider sponsoring student(s)? I'd think it would help benefit the development process. :)

Thank you!

LetterRip

Post by LetterRip » Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:32 am

See Tons mailing list post,

Blender Foundation has signed up to be a sponsor,
[Bf-committers] Google sponsoring; Summer of Code!

Hi all,

Here's a chance to get a summer job for Blender coding;

http://code.google.com/summerofcode.html

I've just applied for the BF to become official 'Mentoring
Organization'. But I don't think it's a requirement... interested
developers can just apply.

For the sake of this project, I've uploaded a quick todo list to our
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Project_Op ... 589.0.html

-Ton-
LetterRip

Money_YaY!

Post by Money_YaY! » Thu Jun 02, 2005 7:29 am

Sweet! I should learn code now :P HHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHA HA

Good luck all. MAke sure you debug it well :D

Koba

Post by Koba » Thu Jun 02, 2005 1:02 pm