Are the 3ds exporters legal?

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

3D-Can

Are the 3ds exporters legal?

Post by 3D-Can » Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:21 pm

I'm new to the blender scene I understand the open source GNU in regard to the main blender application but it appears to me that the exporters I've seen are external creations and I find nothing in the GNU documentation noting permission to use 3DS Max data structures.

Are these 3DS exporters legal to use in a commercial setting? Would people who used those exporters be violating an autodesk or discreet licence :?:

Please, I'm not looking to pick a fight I just need a solid answer, not a bunch of shoot from the hip opinions.

Thanks
3D-Can

ysvry

Post by ysvry » Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:10 am

if they import uvmapped materials properly they are other wisethey arent, are the gifimporters legal or do people using them pay aol?

kakapo

Post by kakapo » Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:30 am

i think a format itself can't be copyrighted and the 3ds format isn't the 3dsmax format but an outdated format from the dos 3dstudio times.

with gif the problem was the patented compression algorithm which is needed to write it but this patent is expired now.

3D-Can

Post by 3D-Can » Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:00 pm

I don't see why not since a data format is just a program or program recipe. The person producing the mesh would own the model but the file format might be proprietary.

The copyrights of any work exists usually 80 years past the death of the author. If it is protected by patent alone it may be expired but copyrights for software exist way past obsolecence.

What I want to know is is there a formal understanding between autodesk or discreet to use their data structures similar to that that exists for text like ASCII.