Blender on Linux mandrake vs Blender on Windows 95

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
arcX
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:04 pm

Blender on Linux mandrake vs Blender on Windows 95

Post by arcX » Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:10 pm

I've go both os' (with blender) on my 333mhz pc as a dual boot. What I don't get is why Blender takes ages to redraw menus and respond to selecting on the Linux system but not so on the windows?
any ideas
---
arcX

heli
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:44 am

Depends on the driver

Post by heli » Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:18 pm

The difference makes certainly the graphics driver. If you have no hardware acceleration under linux, blender will be very very slow.
Do you have hardware acceleration for 3D?
Since the gui of blender is based on opengl this will surely speed up things.

which graphicscard do you have?
which version of mandrake?
which version of XFree?

Bye
Heli

arcX
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:04 pm

Post by arcX » Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:25 pm

Hi there,
I've got mandrake 8 I think, and I have rebuilt the kernel to version 2.4
The Graphics card I have I bought about 4/5 years ago - 8mb ram on it I think. Not very powerful.
How do I get hardware acceleration?

Also I don't know what xfree is?

I guess I got some learning ahead of me?

---
arcX

heli
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:44 am

Post by heli » Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:23 pm

Hi,

can you please open a terminal and type the following command:

Code: Select all

lspci
there should be a line like

Code: Select all

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX] (rev a1)
so you can say which graphics card there is.

also with

Code: Select all

rpm -qi XFree86
you can get the version number of your installed XFree (which is the open source windows environment under linux)

you can configure your /etc/X11/XF86Config(-4 if you have XFree 4.x) and maybe add there hardware acceleration. Maybe you have a nvidia-card, so you have to download and install the nvidia drivers from their homepage to get 3D hardware acceleration.

Bye
Heli

arcX
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 12:04 pm

Post by arcX » Wed Jan 08, 2003 2:49 pm

wow!
Thanks a lot for that.
I will check my card, and if I have the option for hardware acceleration.
:-) Unfortunately I'm not at home PC right now.

If I don't have nvidea or an option for HW acceleration what would my next step be?

---
arcX

Post Reply