pleas i need help

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

pleas i need help

Post by videomaker » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:25 pm

i dont know if i have the right graphics card, how can i fix it,

(i cannot acess blenders buttons or menus)

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:31 pm

Try this:
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Graphics_Cards.201.0.html
( I just bought a new machine with an ATI express :( , I guess now I know what I want for x-mas, an n-vidia! )

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:35 pm

srry but i looked at this and it dosent tell me anything.

i have a nvida on my mac and it still dosent work.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:42 pm

I read in your other post that it's an osx10.4 problem.
Apple keeps on making changes to the OS that are not really OpenGL compatible (like using backbuffer for drop shadows).
Maybe toni or letterRip knows if somebody is working on this and for what release...

You can track OpenGL problems here http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?at ... unc=browse
I think you have problem 3334: http://projects.blender.org/tracker/ind ... 9&atid=125

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:46 pm

its not that i cant see the button but when i press them nothing happens

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:49 pm

what will happen if i install another driver?

i need to use other prgms like final cut pro, etc

if i put in another driver would it affect my other applications?

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:51 pm

Nothing visual with the botton, or something visual with the button and no response from the program?
Is it just very slow (hold the mouse down for a while)
And what about the keyboard? Do keys work (pad+ pad- for example)
Or is blender just totally frozen?

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:54 pm

its not totaly frozen i can move the object on the screen and sometimes the button react.

and for menus to select (lik on object view)

i have to click, hold an push the mouse up as if there was an actual meun extention and it will react.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:00 am

Sounds like a swap buffer problem to me,... but I'm afraid an expert needs to take a look at this... :( I hope it will be fixed with version 2.40 .

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:01 am

what is a swap buffer

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:13 am

A swap buffer is a space in memory where the program draws it's stuff and then presents that whole image at once so you did not see the programm drawing its stuff. Then while showing you one image it starts drawing on an other and then *swaps* the two images. etc.

videomaker
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:39 pm

Post by videomaker » Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:15 am

well thanks for the help, if you find anymore information whre i could fix it please let me know, im dieng to start animating


thanks again....

MrMunkily
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 5:24 am

Post by MrMunkily » Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:09 pm

Rumor has it that apple's fixing driver problems with 10.4.4, early next year.

Post Reply