Request: Blender 2.40 Win32 Optmized build

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
mpan3
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:16 pm

Request: Blender 2.40 Win32 Optmized build

Post by mpan3 » Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:57 am

For every official release, optmized versions for P3, P4, Athlon XP and A64 should be ready for download as well...

Would someone with a compiling envorinment setted up please release an optmized version?

ysvry
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 pm

Post by ysvry » Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:50 am

yes was also eagerly looking for such a version too.

mpan3
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:16 pm

Post by mpan3 » Wed Dec 28, 2005 3:54 am

ysvry wrote:yes was also eagerly looking for such a version too.
I am sure there is a nice soul outthere who would 'eagerly' build such a version for the good of mankind.

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Fri Dec 30, 2005 12:21 am

You guys are in luck. :wink: I just posted an ultra-fast, streamlined build on graphicall.org that is a Win32 optimized. It, however, requires your processor to support SSE2 to run. But it renders ultra fast. I was able to cut render time in half from the normal release build. Please post your render times so we can compare. Good luck, and have fun spending (less) time rendering! :D

mpan3
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:16 pm

Post by mpan3 » Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:41 am

Not for us Athlon XP users: NO SSE2 support :cry:

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:44 am

Most Athlon processors, actually, have SSE2 support. But if yours doesn't, I will post optimized builds for SSE1 and no SSE too.

mpan3
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 7:16 pm

Post by mpan3 » Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:09 am

I don't think Athlon and Athlon XP have SSE2 support. My XP 3200+ only reports MMX(+), 3DNow(+) and SSE. I wish I had SSE2, though :x

By the way, is there anyway to gain some extra performance by utilizing 3DNow? :oops:

But, please, Athlon XP build... :wink:

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:12 am

Moved to news&chat. I repeat: don't start new threads in the Testing Builds forum if you don't have a new build to offer. It is information you could've learned by reading the guiding thread at the top of the forum.

/Nathan

grimey
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:55 pm

Post by grimey » Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:13 am

Please post your render times so we can compare.
Non-optimized: 3:38.79
Optimized: 2.38.14

wow... :shock:

Big improvement, and I doubled checked the times.

motorsep11
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:25 am
Location: San Antonio, TX

Post by motorsep11 » Wed Jan 18, 2006 6:10 pm

There is two builds on graphicall.org that isoptimized for SSE2:

1. Orange (SSE2) from Jan-15-06
2. Bf-Blender/ Windows optimized (with SSE2) from Jan-14-06

Are they both Windows optimized?
Which one should I use under Win to get higher perfomance?

Thanks.

ysvry
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 pm

Post by ysvry » Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:00 am

thx mchs i have a p4 so sse2 is ok with me.

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:48 pm

motorsep11 wrote:There is two builds on graphicall.org that isoptimized for SSE2:

1. Orange (SSE2) from Jan-15-06
2. Bf-Blender/ Windows optimized (with SSE2) from Jan-14-06

Are they both Windows optimized?
Which one should I use under Win to get higher perfomance?

Thanks.
They are both optimized. Orange is basically 2.40, with a few more options. Choose whichever one you like. :D

Post Reply