Blender 2.41 (powerPc) works on MacIntel

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
alelink
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Blender 2.41 (powerPc) works on MacIntel

Post by alelink »

Hello,
just today I've brough a new iMac 20" equiped by Intel Dual Core 2GHz, and I've tested the powerPc version of Blender 2.41.
The program starts, run great, there's no graphics errors, and
it renders my scenes too, but using only ONE core.

I will do some other tests tomorrow.

Alessandro

DwarvenFury
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by DwarvenFury »

If you select the "Threads" option in the Render tab, I think it will use both of your cores. Perhaps you've already tried that, though...:?

DwarvenFury
"What a horrible candle snuffing word. Just."

alelink
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by alelink »

thanks! I'checked the "treads" button and now it uses both the 2 cores.

wavk
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:58 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wavk »

It would be nice to see how a native Intel compiled version of Blender would compare to the emulated PowerPC version. Also curious if it will compile without problems. I can't wait to do some tests on the new intel macs.

How does the new iMac feel, is it much faster?

alelink
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by alelink »

hello wavk,
the intel iMac seems to be faster, but:
1) there's few optimized apps
2)I have an iBook 12" (latest model), an iMac g3, and an Athlon PC,
so for me the intel iMac is VERY fast!!

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

alelink,

do you have any coding knowledge? It would be interesting to do a test compile and see if a native build would compile or run (likely to be 'endian' issues so to get a native build going good would require secure shell access for our mac expert or similar...).

LetterRip

mvelik
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:51 am

Post by mvelik »

I've tried to compile blender on an iMac intel (17") the biggest holdup was there aren't any libs to link against (lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc) only works for powerpc, I'm in the process of trying to compile all of the required lib.a's but have limited time on the intel machine (Demo unit at the Valley MacStore and iCafe), mostly limited by my work time (two jobs suck). Just chipping away at it.
The new iMacs are really fast, but I'm still on a 550mhz powerbook so a lot of things seem really fast. Thinking about upgrading to a MacBook Pro, I need to lose some weight any way so not eating for a couple of months should cover it :wink:

mvelik
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:51 am

double post please ignore

Post by mvelik »

Sorry about the double post, my mouse has taken to double, triple clicking at the wrong times, time to replace it.


I've tried to compile blender on an iMac intel (17") the biggest holdup was there aren't any libs to link against (lib/darwin-6.1-powerpc) only works for powerpc, I'm in the process of trying to compile all of the required lib.a's but have limited time on the intel machine (Demo unit at the Valley MacStore and iCafe), mostly limited by my work time (two jobs suck). Just chipping away at it.
The new iMacs are really fast, but I'm still on a 550mhz powerbook so a lot of things seem really fast. Thinking about upgrading to a MacBook Pro, I need to lose some weight any way so not eating for a couple of months should cover it :wink:

Michael Velikanje

alelink
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by alelink »

hello LetterRip,
yes, I have some coding experience, but not so advanced.
In this times I'm working on my degree project,
I'm mainly a 3d artist, and have few free time, but I want to help.


please let me know what we will do.

alelink

nam
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:20 pm

Post by nam »

thanks for clearing up the air. i was considering getting a macbook pro as well...but only 10 more months til i can afford to get it :(

podperson
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:06 pm

Post by podperson »

FYI -- you don't need an intel Mac to compile for Macintel. Just install XCode and set your target options accordingly.

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

podperson,

the concern is for potential 'endian' issues which may require some coder knowledge to fix. Also there were changes needed to get blender to compile under the newest version of apples gcc (the changes haven't been committed yet due to waiting to make sure it doesn't cause problems for Orange).

LetterRip

podperson
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:06 pm

Post by podperson »

Oh I wasn't suggesting this would magically fix any problems -- just that some folks were saying things like "I don't get enough time on the Intel Mac in the store to compile Blender" ...

I would hope that endian issues would be handled by compiler directives for CPU independent of OS... but nothing's perfect; I could imagine Mac-specific code making endian assumptions.

Dancougar
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 4:47 pm

Re: Blender 2.41 (powerPc) works on MacIntel

Post by Dancougar »

alelink wrote:Hello,
just today I've brough a new iMac 20" equiped by Intel Dual Core 2GHz, and I've tested the powerPc version of Blender 2.41.
The program starts, run great, there's no graphics errors, and
it renders my scenes too, but using only ONE core.

I will do some other tests tomorrow.

Alessandro
Wow... I can't even get it to start up on my G4 dual 500 running tiger.
--Dancougar

MrMunkily
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 5:24 am

Post by MrMunkily »

Check this thread for an early intel build, made by Timothy.

Apparently it "mostly" works and is very fast

http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic. ... sc&start=0

Post Reply