Page 3 of 4

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:10 am
by valar_king
Cool!

Re: booleans

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:16 am
by Manuel
nikolatesla20 wrote:I changed LICENSE_KEY_VALID to TRUE and recompiled

Boolean ops work now for me....


Wow about time we had these. Very nice. Now to see if I can turn on NLA.

-nt20
Thanks...you are great!
Now boolean work...thanks!!!

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:02 am
by kflich
:?: what about creating game in exe files (save runtime) is this feature off ? it dosen't work for me.

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:03 am
by BetaParticle
Thanks for getting this out so fast, its very much appreciated.
So far almost everything works. Some parts that I have found to not work are:

Plugins
NLA(as already mentioned)
Ripstring's Fiber script

I have also noticed that for a high poly scene (>250,000 polys after subdiv), it seems to render much much slower than 2.23. I don't know if this is just a 2.25 thing or if its a compiler thing, but it happens.
I really wish I new how to do this kind of thing, or coding for that matter, cause I'd really like to help out.
What ever it is you guys are doiing, keep doing it!

-BetaParticle

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:19 am
by Manuel
BetaParticle wrote:Thanks for getting this out so fast, its very much appreciated.
So far almost everything works. Some parts that I have found to not work are:

Plugins
NLA(as already mentioned)
Ripstring's Fiber script

I have also noticed that for a high poly scene (>250,000 polys after subdiv), it seems to render much much slower than 2.23. I don't know if this is just a 2.25 thing or if its a compiler thing, but it happens.
I really wish I new how to do this kind of thing, or coding for that matter, cause I'd really like to help out.
What ever it is you guys are doiing, keep doing it!

-BetaParticle
Can you tell me the error message
about the Ripsting's script?

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:19 am
by kerosene
heyho!

betaParticle: it's a 2.25 thingy.. it happenes with the 'original' version as well (using windows.. haven't tried in linux yet.. well. god knows why. lol)

keep blending (YAY!!)
kerosene

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 1:52 am
by NateTG
awsome!! :D This is so cool.

...now if someone could get the NLA thing working, that would be awesome-er. :)

unfortunately i have no idea how to do any coding except really basic stuff. maybe i should learn.

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:53 am
by BetaParticle
Can you tell me the error message
about the Ripsting's script?
The error message I get is
File "Fiber.2.py", line 201, in ?
AttributeError: GetSelected

I get the same kind of error when I tried the Wavefront export script. I have both of them working in 2.23
Hope that helps

-BetaParticle

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:14 am
by Rob_E23
:D Thank you very very much, does anyone else notice the monkey thing (spacebar->mesh at the bottom) what is that all about? Did Niko code that somehow?

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:45 am
by theeth
Rob_E23 wrote::D Thank you very very much, does anyone else notice the monkey thing (spacebar->mesh at the bottom) what is that all about? Did Niko code that somehow?
no, it's an original 2.25 feature.

BetaParticle: the Python api is not the same in 2.25, some functions have a new name, so the scripts are not always compatible.

Martin

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 6:47 am
by RiNiK
hmm I'm getting intresting error messages when I use Blender

GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E2D380
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21320
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E30230
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E2F0B0
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21010
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21320
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E29020
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E29020
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E3AFC0
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70

it doesent bother me... Blender dont crash and I can use it as normal... but there is something wrong about the rendering engine...[/img]

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 9:32 am
by Jamesk
This is excellent. Now where can I get a good copy of MSVC? :twisted:

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 11:02 am
by Goofster
RiNiK wrote:hmm I'm getting intresting error messages when I use Blender

GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E2D380
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21320
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E30230
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E2F0B0
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21010
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E21320
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E29020
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E29020
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E3AFC0
GHOST event error - invalid window - win: 00E27E70

it doesent bother me... Blender dont crash and I can use it as normal... but there is something wrong about the rendering engine...[/img]
yep, 2.25 bugs :)
probably because they rushed putting in the GHOST library to replace GLUT

It's working, but...

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:29 pm
by AshleyHarris
Congratulations on getting blender to compile!

First, I'm having heaps of problems with python, this was mentioned in here, so, I want report it again. (I had this cool little skateboarder girl game I got of a post on blenderwars).

Second, render speeds are down HEAPS, I mean a semi complicated scene, that took one-two minutes to render in 2.23, takes like 7 minutes to render the bottom 20 pixels in 2.25. (ie, about 5% of the 2.23 speed).

Anyway, heaps of things work:
- Particles
- Shadows
- Oversampling
- Textures
- IPOS

Once again, good job!

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:57 pm
by phase
I noticed a slowdown in rendering too, but this has nothing to do with
nikolatesla20 's compiled version of Blender.

The official 2.25 has the same bug/feature. It has something to do with
the renderwindow. As you might notice you can zoom (toggle z) and
scroll (middlemouse) in the renderwindow. I don't know if there are any
more options added.

Rendering in a console (blender -b) gives the same rendertimes as 2.23.