Page 4 of 4

Re: It's working, but...

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:58 pm
by gorgan_almighty
AshleyHarris wrote: First, I'm having heaps of problems with python, this was mentioned in here, so, I want report it again. (I had this cool little skateboarder girl game I got of a post on blenderwars).
Sounds like another physics problem, the physics engine doesn't work so any Python scripts that use it (eg with fuction calls like applyImpulse()) won't work either. :cry:


Saluk & Niko: I'm quite good at maths and mechanics stuff so i could do the maths theory for the new physics engine but i don't know anything about how Blender implements it in C++. So I'd be happy to work with some1 whos good at that stuff to make a new engine :)

Just want 2 help anyway I can. :)

Re: Rough Win32 compilation info.

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:39 pm
by gsusfreek
nikolatesla20 wrote:Here is a very rough doc

http://webpages.charter.net/nikolatesla ... ompile.zip

-nt20

Well, apparently you have already downloaded and compiled all of those libraries. So, :idea: is there any reason you can't just zip up the libraries and what all else there is with a doc telling where to put each library? :?:
I would GREATLY appreciate it if you could. thanx. buy.

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:32 am
by AshleyHarris
phase wrote:I noticed a slowdown in rendering too, but this has nothing to do with
nikolatesla20 's compiled version of Blender.

The official 2.25 has the same bug/feature. It has something to do with
the renderwindow. As you might notice you can zoom (toggle z) and
scroll (middlemouse) in the renderwindow. I don't know if there are any
more options added.

Rendering in a console (blender -b) gives the same rendertimes as 2.23.
On a side note here, I know blender can render from the command line, I've seen a couple of render deamons available, and they must do it somehow, but, what exactly is the command line syntax? If i had some C++ skills, I'd pull it out of the code, but, my C++ skills are kinda nonexistant.

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:43 am
by Jamesk
AshleyHarris wrote:On a side note here, I know blender can render from the command line, I've seen a couple of render deamons available, and they must do it somehow, but, what exactly is the command line syntax? If i had some C++ skills, I'd pull it out of the code, but, my C++ skills are kinda nonexistant.
Ya don't need any C-skills to find that out :D

Just start blender from a command prompt/console window with:

blender -h

That will give you all the options. To render in the background, just type:

blender -b your_file_here.blend

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2002 5:21 pm
by Manuel
In the python windows, the
ALT - 35 to write the # don't work...