simple stupid question

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

snowy_duck
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: In an igloo right next to a penguin fleet

simple stupid question

Post by snowy_duck »

where can i find my processor speed? i need to know if my comp. can handle medal of honor.

diz
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:50 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by diz »

Most computers show it when booting, in the first screen "black screen", where you also see stuff like your amount of memory and messages like "keyboard detected" or "mouse detected". 8)

If you have a good old catodic screen, it may sometimes be hard to see this screen, because your screen needs some time before displaying something. :shock: In this case, you may boot your computer, wait until your screen shows something, and push the reboot button. But don't push the reboot button too late, because it may harm your computer if you press it after your operating system (windoz, linux, ...) already begins to start. Also don't abuse of the reboot button, it should only be used if there is no other way. :twisted:

I hope that helps.

Gabriel

Skelet
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 4:07 pm

Post by Skelet »

I think it must be wroted on the processor... Under the cooler :D
The Skelet

shadow
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:33 pm

Post by shadow »

:idea: Check it in BIOS :D
The box said: "Requires Windows 95 or better"
So I installed Linux...

aequitas
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Holland

Post by aequitas »

open shell: #cat /proc/cpuinfo

there should be some cpu speed somewhere around there.

shadow: nice sig. :D

snowy_duck
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: In an igloo right next to a penguin fleet

Post by snowy_duck »

sorry to say this but the first comment didn't work because my comp. go into a dell loading screen (where it would be showing all those kool numbers :roll: ) then right into a windows loading screen and doesn't show those numbers. how do u see your bois? (i mean if i knew where my bois were i wouldn't have asked cause i knew they were in there :lol: )

shadow
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:33 pm

Post by shadow »

aequitas: thanks, want some?

I don't know how to enter the BIOS in Dell comps. Sorry :( No "blank screen" no Bios entry :)
The box said: "Requires Windows 95 or better"
So I installed Linux...

aequitas
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Holland

Post by aequitas »

shadow: sure, always keen on expanding my linux sigs collection :)

snowy_duck: if your windows user (which i guess) you could download sisoft sandra. Its a all in one benchmark program which also shows your processor speed.

http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/

i think they have a shareware version some where

shadow
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:33 pm

Post by shadow »

aequitas: write me an e-mail :)
The box said: "Requires Windows 95 or better"
So I installed Linux...

aequitas
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Holland

Post by aequitas »

would be nice if your email adres would be in your profile :)
Its not easy to guess you know

shadow
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 1:33 pm

Post by shadow »

aequitas: Heve you read your Pmessages? :D shadow_m@o2.pl if you don't.
The box said: "Requires Windows 95 or better"
So I installed Linux...

aequitas
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Holland

Post by aequitas »

since this minute, no never. actualy :)

i will send some soon.

LethalSideParting
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Bucks, England

A little help?

Post by LethalSideParting »

Hmmm, I think someone mentioned it was a Dell computer?

Well, on my Dell Optiplex GX1, you enter the BIOS (not bois, by the way, that's french for wood :D ) by pressing F2 on startup when you see that Dell loading screen. This then takes you to a screen where you can change all sorts of details about your computer.

I dunno if maybe they've changed it in some of their later models? (this computer's pushing 5 years old now). Well, give it a try, and you should see your processor speed somewhere in there. Just don't change anything in the BIOS unless you're 100% sure about what you're doing - it's the number one way to screw up your computer (apart from wiping your boot partition *GUILTY SMILE* ).

Anyway, enough reminiscing. Let me know if that worked.

LethalSideParting

snowy_duck
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: In an igloo right next to a penguin fleet

Post by snowy_duck »

hey lehtalsideparting i have a del optiplex GX1 pentuim lll and older then 3 years (that i know of) but anyways thanks

snowy_duck
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:22 pm
Location: In an igloo right next to a penguin fleet

Post by snowy_duck »

hey lehtalsideparting i have a del optiplex GX1 pentuim lll and older then 3 years (that i know of) but anyways thanks

Post Reply