Page 1 of 2

nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 not work with Blender

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:50 pm
by Legnar
I not have success to work with blender in my GeForce2. :(
What I need to work?
My configuration is:
WinXP
NVidia GeForce2 MX 400
256 Mb Ram
2 HD 20Gb

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:03 pm
by IngieBee
Hi, well, make sure first that you go to the nvida.com website and download the latest drivers. Here, in case it's troublesome for you to figure out ( if english is a second language)

download this:
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=winxp-2k_30.82

and install it as your driver (unless that link is a self installer, can't remember) and if that does not work, please let us know which version you are using. If it's one of the newly compiled versions, I'd wager it's the python.dll that you are missing. They'll have a few quirks after that too, but on the whole, should work on your machine.

Good luck, Ingie

nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 not work with Blender

Posted: Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:27 pm
by Legnar
Yes inglish is my second language.

I downloaded the latest drive for my GeForce2 before write the message.
I using blender 2.23 distributed by NaN.

Re: nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 not work with Blender

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:17 am
by valar_king
Legnar wrote:Yes inglish is my second language.
ROTFLMFAO
:lol: :lol: :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:45 am
by ray_theray
Add the noaudio tag to all of your Blender shortcuts so they look something like this:

Code: Select all

"D:\Program Files\Blender\Blender.exe" -noaudio
This is a flaw with only the GeForce 2 MX 400's I think. The only caveat is that sound in the game engine doesn't work, but I'd rather continue blending than have some sound effects. :wink:
__________
-ray_theray
Yup, the name's a Sleudian frip, alright.

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:16 am
by IngieBee
That's very strange because I have a geforce2 mx 400 as well, but no problems at all???

What happens when you try to run blender?

Re: nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 not work with Blender

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:39 am
by dittohead
valar_king wrote:
Legnar wrote:Yes inglish is my second language.
ROTFLMFAO
:lol: :lol: :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
come off it valar_ding.

just because he doen't know english very well, doesn't mean he deverses to be the end of jokes!!!

nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 not work with Blender

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:27 pm
by Legnar
ray_theray tanks for help.
using this options to start blender work with accelaration.

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 2:27 pm
by bob_dog
It seems that Blender has given a lot of people video card problems (myself included - I still have unresolved problems on my desktop :cry: ). I wonder how many potentially great Blender users are turned away by this initial stumbling block?

How about we make the video card problem a high priority when tinkering with the code!

Warren

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2002 3:42 pm
by IoN_PuLse
ALL GEFORCES WORK GREAT WITH BLENDER.

Now that I got that out of my system, here is some troubleshooting info:

-Nvidia is awesome, their drivers work great, just remember to have anti-aliasing OFF
-ATI sucks! Their new cards are faster but their history is plagued with horrible driver support
-SoundBlaster Live! cards can cause issues, try executing blender like this:
blender.exe -noaudio

Hope that helps

Posted: Sun Oct 20, 2002 10:01 am
by VelikM
It's not a problem with Blender or the video card................ it's the OS, windoze.:cry:
Sorry, I can't help myself. 8)
To maximize your Blending experience use Linux. :wink:
Me puts on my asbestos suit. :twisted:

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:55 am
by G_Man
For even better work form your Nvidia card, you should D/L the detonator drivers.
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=winxp-2k_40.72

They are still beta, so be warned, but it has done incredable things to what I can do in blender, and games :D

~Geoffrey~

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 9:50 am
by darklynx
Audio problems with Geforce MX400 don´t always come up.I have the same model and no problems occur with sound.
One question:I have major problems with a bug on the 2.24 version of Blender:when I close the program(with the File-Quit command;any other way of closing Blender forces the system to crash) I can´t work probably with my PC unless I restart it.Is it a known bug or there is something else to blame?

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 12:43 pm
by xype
IoN_PuLse wrote:-ATI sucks!


I never had problems with mine (I ran 4 computers with ATI cards until a few months ago)

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:06 pm
by Legnar
I am use linux past 4 years, to work. Blender is one of my hobby, and I use linux to Server(Proxy, HTTP, Firewall, etc).
VelikM wrote:It's not a problem with Blender or the video card................ it's the OS, windoze.:cry:
Sorry, I can't help myself. 8)
To maximize your Blending experience use Linux. :wink:
Me puts on my asbestos suit. :twisted: