A Virtual Layer Manager Tool script

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
farsthary
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:27 pm

A Virtual Layer Manager Tool script

Post by farsthary »

Hello World!


Well I hope not reinvent the wheel with a script I wrote last nigth :D
I named it Virtual Layer Manager script, and as the name say it´s for handle virtual layers .I mean, layers independent from the bit coded 20 layers of Blender.

The working principle is very easy, when I upload it to somewhere (I have no personal web site, and I am new in this stuffs) you coul see

feature list:

1-Easy GUI (although I currently trying to make it better)
2-Manage ¨unlimited¨ amount of virtual layers (Not only 20)
3-Support Layer creation, deletion, update
4-Persistent data in the same .blend files
5-Independent virtual layers from real layers
6-Auto register in the Object Script entry menu

Where I could upload the script?
Send me opinions and feedbacks
Thanks

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

Cool!

I think you mean edit layers, not render layers.
I know people also want to be able to name their layers.

Can you animate them?

farsthary
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:27 pm

Corrections

Post by farsthary »

:o
Hello again:
OK, I forgot to tell that virtual layers are Edit layers, no Render layers and you can give it any name you want, in each real edit layer you can have any number of virtual layers and for each virtual layer you can have any number of objects.

Please tell me what do you meant with animate them?

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

Sometimes it's handy to move objects from one layer to another during an animation. And sometimes it handy to turn a layer off or on during an animation. I was wondering if you've provided a system for that.

(btw. Have you found a server for your script?)

farsthary
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:27 pm

Layer Manager

Post by farsthary »

:oops: I´m terrible sorry for not answer sooner, but I´ll say it again:
I have not regular access to Internet (could be possible?)
Well, I got the idea with animate layers, thank you, and yes, with few extra line codes I think it could be possible to animate them.
And no ,I have not found yet a server to upload the script, but with the addition of animate layer I currently not release the script until I made that. If you know any features extra that I could include I´ll preciate that. :lol:

Thank you joeri for your collaboration.

GusM
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:16 pm

Post by GusM »

I would also apreciate if you can add a "lock layer" option, so you can have some layers visible but not being able to select or modify them by mistake.

And also a "gost" layer, so you got it transparent (or wireframe). Well, in fact, if you go this direction, why not add a full rendermode option for each layer?

I know that for complex projects all of this will be very usefull.

Thank you in advance.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

GusM wrote:I would also apreciate if you can add a "lock layer" option, so you can have some layers visible but not being able to select or modify them by mistake.

And also a "gost" layer, so you got it transparent (or wireframe). Well, in fact, if you go this direction, why not add a full rendermode option for each layer?

I know that for complex projects all of this will be very usefull.

Thank you in advance.
I'm sure these would be usefull, but I doubt doable with a python script.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Layer Manager

Post by joeri »

farsthary wrote:I have not regular access to Internet (could be possible?)
Yes very possible.
farsthary wrote:I have not found yet a server to upload the script
I think they will be happy to add your script at blenderartists.org.
You should check out that site anyway ( if you didn't do that already )
http://blenderartists.org/cms/index.php
Lots of users there that could take advantage of your script.

farsthary
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 4:27 pm

Release 1.0

Post by farsthary »

:D Hello everybody:

Some days ago I wrote that I thougth that animate virtual layers transitions will be easy but now I retract myself.
The problem is that for animate virtual layers transitions the script had to add weird functions for animating because I made the virtual layers as a property of an object and Blender does not support extra property animations, and for made lock layers I will also investigate that path
but in orther to dont make you people wait more longer I will release the script the next week in the version 1.0 for static virtual layers

in the list of features I have to add:
7-Move to selected virtual layer any selected object or groups of objects
8-Remove from selected virtual layer aselected objects or groups
9-Clean all virtual layers (In case your are upset with the script :D )

Because I´m not trying to sustitute a True Layer Manager that Blender HAVE to had some day and the fact that in some cases the GUI is all (For example in a really complex proyect you dont want to have a script that block a big portions of your screen),I will try to not make the script too heavy. If someone could help me in the development of the script I only want that you send me your additions or modifications.
So the next week, when I could connect again I´ll try to upload the script where joeri say.
In any case I will remain you.
Thak in advance

Post Reply