Basic Noob Question

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
gray_
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:28 pm

Basic Noob Question

Post by gray_ »

With the default install of Blender, I create a new scene. Up pops the cube.

I select the cube, duplicate it and rotate the duplicate 45 degrees about the Y axis (forming a kind of star shape). Then I hit F12 to render.

Image

Why do I see a load of corruption on the top of the rendered shape?

- Gray

Caronte
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Post by Caronte »

You need to scale one cube a bit ;)
Caronte.
"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"
http://www.nicodigital.com

qwequ777
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:05 pm

Post by qwequ777 »

the render engine does not know which face is on top of the other.
on some places it happens to be the first, on others it is the second one I think
even if they are exactly at the same place, at the 7th number after the comma they might be a little bit different
and you get the speckles because one plane casts a shadow on the other one

at least I think so :)

solution: see above post

kitsu
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:08 am

Post by kitsu »

This is indeed caused by "coincident surfaces" and will render similarly in most renderers.

gray_
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:28 pm

Post by gray_ »

Thanks guys.

I also found that creating a single mesh using Boolean->Union solves this problem too.

- Gray

Post Reply