Page 1 of 1

Vista Render Problem

Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:01 pm
by dantheloung
I'm a total noob but I don't think I'm to blame for this problem.

My computer is an Acer 5735z dual booted to Vista and XP.


In XP blender runs fine but in Vista if I render anything (even the box) then the render works but then the program crashes. When I close the render window what's underneath is just black and the program stops responding...

Any ideas, I thought it could be my video driver but it works fine in XP so does anyone have the same problem?

Cheers, DTL.

Same

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:12 pm
by sgrudisill
Just downloaded blender and was running through tutorials; same result as soon as I tried to close the render window. The renders appear to work fine, and you can keep working with the render window in the background, but I'm pretty sure one should be able to close the window without the program crashing.

There are other people reporting the same problem here, dating back to Aug '08: http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic. ... 65ba65bcf3

Is it a Vista thing? I'm running Home Premium.

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:08 am
by jesterKing
The black windows sounds supsiciously like the console window we have. Don't close that, since that closes Blender - it *is* Blender.

/Nathan

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:50 pm
by dantheloung
No, it's not the console window...

The render window opens and renders...

Now if I close it or move it about, the space where it was is black, and blender is completely unresponsive.

I'll try and post up a screenshot.

Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:32 am
by dantheloung
http://www.flickr.com/photos/40146850@N ... 893656843/

I've put my screenshots up here so you can see what the problem is.

As I mentioned earlier my laptop is an Acer Aspire 5735z

The spec is as follows:

# 15.6” WXGA glossy display (16:9 aspect ratio, 1366x768 resolution, model AUO10EC)
# Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
# Intel Pentium Dual-Core T3200 processor (2.0GHz/1MB L2/667MHz FSB)
# 2GB DDR2-667 RAM
# 160GB 5400RPM hard drive (Western Digital WD1600BEVT)
# Intel GMA 4500MHD integrated graphics
# Intel GL40 chipset
# Atheros AR5B91 802.11 Draft-N wireless


Are there any known issues with any of that lot?



cheers.

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:17 pm
by Andyba
dantheloung wrote:No, it's not the console window...

The render window opens and renders...

Now if I close it or move it about, the space where it was is black, and blender is completely unresponsive.

I'll try and post up a screenshot.
I have the same problem on my vista laptop.

But I have 2 versions of python installed 2.5 and 2.6 and I don't know which one is the default. I installed python 2.6 after installing blender version 2.49a.

Had same problem with rendering w Vista and Intel chipset

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:56 pm
by greeblie
I have a toshiba laptop with Intel Mobile chipset and had same problem rendering. Blacked out windows and lockup. I turned off transparency, went to Vista Basic window and set Blender Shortcut to run as Administrator (probably not necessary) and set compatibility mode to Windows XP - SP2.

For now it works... Will update is things change.

UPDATE: Still don't work reliably... fartknuckles...

Re: Had same problem with rendering w Vista and Intel chipse

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:45 pm
by caeious
I am having the same problem as you all when closing the render window. Obviously this should not be happening. My set up is:

-Toshiba w/ Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
-Windows Vista 64 bit with Aero (window transparency) turned off
-Windows 32-bit Blender 3D 2.49a

greeblie wrote:I have a toshiba laptop with Intel Mobile chipset and had same problem rendering. Blacked out windows and lockup. I turned off transparency, went to Vista Basic window and set Blender Shortcut to run as Administrator (probably not necessary) and set compatibility mode to Windows XP - SP2.

For now it works... Will update is things change.
Greeblie, when I set compatibility mode to Windows XP- SP2 , Blender fails to run. I get the console screen saying

"Compiled with Python version 2.6.2.
'import site' failed, use -v for traceback
Checking for installed Python ... No installed Python found.
Only built in modules are available. Some scripts may not run.
Continuing happily."

Actually no, we are not continuing happily. So I guess I have to install Python but it was strange that Blender would run perfectly after running the 32 bit 2.49a installer.

FAST FORWARD 10minutes:

Ok I just installed Python 2.6.2 and started up Blender again and the console window says:

"Compiled with Python version 2.6.2.
Checking for installed Python...Got it!"

So I got it installed and working but still when I run while the compatibility mode is set to Windows XP -SP2, it does not work. The console window loads with the above message but the main Blender window is grayed out.



Regardless if I can't solve this problem, Blender should not crash after closing the Render window. That is just plain silly. This bug needs fixxing ASAP.

It's a Toshiba Problem

Posted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:54 pm
by greeblie
It'sa not Blender's fault it won't run reliably on this setup. There is an OpenGL bug in the current version of most intel vid drivers on toshiba laptops. And you can't just download the latest and greatest from Intel. Toshiba has it locked out.

Unless and until Toshiba/Intel release new video drivers to correct the OpenGL problem Blender (and Moray, OpenGL, etc.) will not work properly in Vista on Toshiba laptops with Intel video drivers... I'm pretty sure we're just all screwed...

Has anyone got Blender or anything with OpenGL to work reliably on a toshiba laptop running vista? I've no evidence... :evil:

Re: It's a Toshiba Problem

Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:39 pm
by caeious
greeblie wrote:It'sa not Blender's fault it won't run reliably on this setup. There is an OpenGL bug in the current version of most intel vid drivers on toshiba laptops. And you can't just download the latest and greatest from Intel. Toshiba has it locked out.

Unless and until Toshiba/Intel release new video drivers to correct the OpenGL problem Blender (and Moray, OpenGL, etc.) will not work properly in Vista on Toshiba laptops with Intel video drivers... I'm pretty sure we're just all screwed...

Has anyone got Blender or anything with OpenGL to work reliably on a toshiba laptop running vista? I've no evidence... :evil:
yeah that is just disgustingly bad news. if i had only known before buying my toshiba. why on earth would they lock it out? do you think toshiba even knows that their customers are being screwed?

Posted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:23 am
by IamScientist
i had the same problem. i just turned on the aero design with transparency and now it works perfectly!
vista home doesn't support aero i think so i don't know if its works with home.
gl