What is 'Redwood' option under 'OpenCL'?

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
bill2reg
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:44 am

What is 'Redwood' option under 'OpenCL'?

Post by bill2reg »

When I choose 'Experimental' as the render option in Cycles and go to the user preferences, 'system' tab, the choices are 'None > CPU' or 'OpenCL > 'Redwood'. My system has and AMD ATI Radeon graphics card. I have chosen this option, but there were two things I noticed. First, the rendering time using the GPU was actually longer that it was with the CPU, and there was no color in the final render, only shades of gray, as if with no lighting.

I wonder if the 'Redwood' setting is even using the GPU, or is it using the CPU anyway, but somehow affecting the way Cycles is working, to render withour color? I couldn't find any clear answer about what this 'Redwood' option is.

bill2reg
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:44 am

Edit to above

Post by bill2reg »

Using Blender 2.63 as of last week.

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv »

the rendering time using the GPU was actually longer that it was with the CPU
Testimony to the power of your graphics card?

bill2reg
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:44 am

Post by bill2reg »

Stiv, as I said, I don't even know for sure if the graphics card IS being used, since I can't find a definite answer about what the "Redwood" option is actually doing. That's the reason I posted the question.

Post Reply