Page 1 of 1

Cycles rendering in latest Blender version (2.68)

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 10:21 pm
by bill2reg
It seems that in this latest version of Blender, cycles rendering doesn't do a very good job. Results are not very realistic, and much of the solid areas look like micro dots. I've tried full resolution, at 100% and render passes at up to 2,000, but still no better. Also, I don't seem to have any option to switch to GPU rendering. My GPU is ATI Radeon HD 5570. Any help is welcome.

Re: Cycles rendering in latest Blender version (2.68)

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:25 am
by Petreanko
bill2reg wrote:It seems that in this latest version of Blender, cycles rendering doesn't do a very good job. Results are not very realistic, and much of the solid areas look like micro dots. I've tried full resolution, at 100% and render passes at up to 2,000, but still no better. Also, I don't seem to have any option to switch to GPU rendering. My GPU is ATI Radeon HD 5570. Any help is welcome.
I am a newbie to blender ...I faced the same issue many times.. to be honest I dont touch the AA passes at all.... what worked for me is that I chose Squared Samples in Sampling tab of render properties. and I dont see the noise speckles or dark spots. Play around with the render sample value to get the desired output

Hope it helps!

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:25 pm
by famouswolf
ATI cards use OpenCL for cycles rendering, which is currently on hold.
You can't select them for GPU rendering at the moment.
As for the noise, this is very scene dependent.
All path-tracers like cycles or arnold suffer when it comes to interior
scenes but thrive in exterior, brighter scenes.
One thing that helps with fireflies for me is setting the clamp value
to 0.9. You can always adjust the curves afterwards to get the contrast
back, etc.
If you have a darker scene, it will be noisy. Try adding dim lights to brighten
very dark areas, then darken in comp.

Hope this helps
Rolf