Ambient colour a world property? UPDATE IN TUHOPPU

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Ambient colour a world property? UPDATE IN TUHOPPU

Post by ideasman »

I have noteced that most 3d applications have the ambient light colour as property of the material.

In blender the ambient colour is a world property, I think this is a bit limiting since it gives more control to be able to adjust each materials ambient colour.

Any comments?

I could probably do this myself with a bit of time, but wanted to see what others thaught or is sombody knew how to impliment this better then me :) .
Last edited by ideasman on Mon Jun 21, 2004 7:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Monkeyboi
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Monkeyboi »

I think the idea is that you can easily and quickly add a colour scheme to your entire scene using Blenders ambient. But I agree that it is limiting. Maybe we really need two ambients - global ambient and local ambient..

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani »

with the possibility of totally overriding the per-material settings with the global ambient.


Ciao
Dani


***[hint] cameras could also use per camera image-size, overridable, of course ;) [/hint]***

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

So IF I was to go and code in an ambient rgb value for each material, Get it working in the renderer and add a python hook.

Mabe have a mode switch- WORLD AMB / MAT AMB
... or a slider to interpolate the values.

Would anybody have a problem with this?

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

I have modified tuhoppy so there are AMB RGB sliders in the material view.
World RGB values are no longer used.

- This is an experement but it works fine.

jiri
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Post by jiri »

Hi,
and it would be useful for import scripts too ;-)

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

Isn't this what the emit is for?

/jesterKing

Usagi
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:26 pm

Post by Usagi »

jesterKing wrote:Isn't this what the emit is for?

/jesterKing
Emit is not colored, isn't it?

Dani
Posts: 143
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 8:35 pm

Post by Dani »

hum, but what if I want a global ambient instead?

I think that setting an ambient in world should over-ride the material ambient.

And when global ambient components=0,0,0
then it's the per-material ambient that's taken into account...

no?

Dani

Usagi
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:26 pm

Post by Usagi »

I prefer the idea with a slider in world properties to mix between global and local. That way you have all the flexibility from "no influence" to "override".

chimera
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 11:41 am
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Post by chimera »

oke here my stuff :)

for settings/parameters that exist globally and individually I prefer having 3 units:

- 2 units that represent the global and individual settings. the mixslider between global / individual is for me a global setting.
- 1 individual unit that controls whats affecting the object. in this case this would be 2 buttons "global / individual" that can be checked both, just 1 or none. commonly this would be set to global, right?

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

About the mixing between global and local.

I have alredy done this, its set to global by default to make older scenes render the same way they used to (therefor making this adjustment backwards compatable)

BUT. This manages to cock up makesdna.c and is says that there is some problem with the stack offset.

I tried to make ambMix var the last one spesified but is still wouldent comile.

Could sombody who knows how to ad vars into blender file format help me out here????

- Thanks

Post Reply