mac vs pc rendering speed

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

rednelb
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 1:34 pm

mac vs pc rendering speed

Post by rednelb » Sun Oct 03, 2004 12:30 am

hi all,
i was wondering how does a pc compare to an apple in terms of rendering speed?
especially compared to g5.
please, does anybody know more about this topis?
thanks..

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Sun Oct 03, 2004 1:37 am

Just to start the ball rolling- I have no idea / first hand experience.

Id say PC's are generally more used and therefor better optimized for blender.
I have read that blender isnt that well optimized to run on a G5... but iot might be changing.

rlynch
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 7:22 am

Post by rlynch » Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:42 pm

If you have a .blend to use as a benchmark we could all render it out and post times and system specs.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:47 pm

blender is an OpenGL proggy, microsoft likes DirectX, apple uses OpenGl. But not for rendering speed.
I'd say blender is a sgi based proggy. Therefor a unix machine would be best. But I have no clue on how compilers optimize the code. I tend to say that if microsoft wrote their compiler as good as their os: you're in trouble.
In the end I think its all about swapping to disk (on big texture maps), mega flops and super cache, not the os.
And the fastest bin will probably the one you compile yourself on your machine with optimized settings for your machine?

JWalton
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:39 pm
Contact:

Post by JWalton » Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:58 pm

joeri wrote:I'd say blender is a sgi based proggy.
not 'is', 'was'.

rednelb
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 1:34 pm

benchmark

Post by rednelb » Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:01 am

hi everyone,
i've prepared one simple scene.
i would like you to ask to download it, hit the render button and provide the time and your configuration in subject line of your reply.
please use yafray and tell us if any build but the standard one was used.
thank you very much for your time!

rednelb
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 1:34 pm

5:05; athlon xp 1600, yafray 0.0.7 - standard win build

Post by rednelb » Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:09 am

5:05; athlon xp 1600 (1.4), 768 ram, yafray 0.0.7 - standard win build

levon
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 6:06 am
Location: adelaide

Post by levon » Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:47 am

ill do this benckmark test in a bit, but....

doesnt a benchmark have to test all aspects of the computer/renderer.
like trying different res textures and etc??

ill post my result later.

levon
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 6:06 am
Location: adelaide

Post by levon » Tue Oct 05, 2004 10:00 am

ok my render was 4:46:18 on an Athlon XP 2400+, 512M ddr 400mhz, geforce 4 ti 4200, logitech USB optical mouse :P you get the idea :lol:

though all it was realy testing was shadows. and also yafray not blenders internal renderer.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Tue Oct 05, 2004 10:52 am

JWalton:
Let me rephrase:
"I'd say blender has his base in sgi."

With base I mean roots. So,... (Gjeez):
"I'd say blender has his roots in sgi."

And it's an it, not a he, right?
"I'd say blender has its roots in sgi."

ready nit picking? :wink:
Last edited by joeri on Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:09 am

joeri wrote:JWalton:
Let me refraise:

ready nit picking? :wink:
rephrase :P

/Nathan

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth » Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:21 pm

joeri wrote:And it's an it, not a he, right?
"I'd say blender has it's roots in sgi."

ready nit picking? :wink:
its ;)

Martin
PS: /me wonders how jesterKing missed that :P
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

JWalton
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:39 pm
Contact:

Post by JWalton » Tue Oct 05, 2004 7:14 pm

well, i glad that cleared that up!

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:16 pm

hahaha :wink: me two

JWalton
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:39 pm
Contact:

Post by JWalton » Tue Oct 05, 2004 11:26 pm

theeth wrote:
joeri wrote:And it's an it, not a he, right?
"I'd say blender has it's roots in sgi."

ready nit picking? :wink:
its ;)

Martin
PS: /me wonders how jesterKing missed that :P
wait a minute, joeri didn't have a conjunction! therefore the apostrophe is faked! how disingenuous!

edit:fixed typo
Last edited by JWalton on Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply