Page 1 of 1

Render raytracing problems

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 4:47 pm
by grimey
I'm seeing some issues with blender raytracing. Basically, raytracing seems to cause faces not to be rendered. I might even be doing something wrong :?

Blender image with no raytracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/blnoray.jpg

Blender with raytracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/blray.jpg

Yafray with ray tracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/yfhray.jpg

Re: Render raytracing problems

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:21 pm
by rcas
grimey wrote:I'm seeing some issues with blender raytracing. Basically, raytracing seems to cause faces not to be rendered. I might even be doing something wrong :?

Blender image with no raytracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/blnoray.jpg

Blender with raytracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/blray.jpg

Yafray with ray tracing

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/yfhray.jpg
Might not be that, but try to recalculate normals outside.

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:14 pm
by Caronte
If you use a CVS build... I think thi's a bug.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:52 am
by grimey
Negative on recalculate outside, same problem.

Um, CVS build...? I'm using 2.40 alpha 2 installed on win XP pro, so I think so!

I take it then, that this is already reported?

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:51 pm
by patricks
Tray “remove doubles” in edit mod.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:17 pm
by grimey
There are no doubles to remove

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:58 pm
by rcas
grimey wrote:There are no doubles to remove
Try Unified Render

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:51 pm
by SirDude
Post the blend file so we can take a look at it.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:56 pm
by grimey
Ah, the unified render fixed it !

The blend file is at

http://www.missouri.edu/~eetge/pics/coilwithbends.zip

for those interested.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:53 pm
by Caronte
This perhaps a bug in the raytraced shadows.
Unified render don't fix it for me, but disabling shadows yes.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:12 pm
by softwork
No bug, just overlapping faces. The coil is build from several parts, which overlap eachother at the endpoints.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 11:22 pm
by grimey
Overlap or not, wouldn't that be a bug?