Results will very?

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Jacks_Depression

Results will very?

Post by Jacks_Depression » Mon Jan 09, 2006 3:38 am

I am new to blender and Yafray but not 3D. I used to work with Swift 3D, but dont hold that aginst me. :)

So explain this to me... why do the rendering engins differ so greatly?
Example...
Blender
Yafray

Why is it that Blender doesn't cast shadows and Yafray doesnt allow any light though the transparent meterial?
You can see a little light in the Yafray, that is just a support for the main light source.
- Bryan

LetterRip

Post by LetterRip » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:41 am

You just need to change the settings of the particular lighting etc you are using - see the lighting and yafray section of the manual.

LetterRip

Jacks_Depression

Post by Jacks_Depression » Mon Jan 09, 2006 6:29 pm

I'm not asking how to solve it. I'm sure I can figure that out.

I would think the information sent to the rendering engine would be very specific and not very. Then the rendering engine would use its own method to display what it is told...
- Bryan

bannerboy

Post by bannerboy » Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:51 pm

the main reason is that blender and YafRay are completely different engines, developed differently, and by different people. the blender internal render engine is the same render engine as has always been in blender, but yafray export support is relatively new. when you render with yafray you are exporting into a different format and rendering with a different render engine. the way that the two render engines handle light, reflection, shadows, etc. is different for the two render engines, and those internal differences give different outputs.

Toon_Scheur

Post by Toon_Scheur » Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:44 pm

I think Jack_Depression's question is more of a general nature.