Page 1 of 1

Blender render performance benchmarked! WinXP,Gentoo,Knoppix

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:05 pm
by mpan3
http://www.mpan3.be/renderspeed.htm

I did a few test and came up with these results, in fact, the test was done quite a long time ago, hence the use of v2.40.

Anyways, here is the scene i used, feel free to give it a try on your system and share your time.
http://www.mpan3.be/files/Blender_Rende ... mark.blend

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 3:38 pm
by Rumbl3
Workstation 01 :

HP XW8200
Processors Bi Xeon 3.6 Ghz
Ram 3.25 GB
GPU Quadro FX 3400
OS Win XP Pro SP2

Re-render gives different times. I don't know why so I give you extreme times.

System Hyperthreading ON - Blender Threads ON : Best 1:24.83 - Worst 1:26.43
System Hyperthreading ON - Blender Threads OFF : Best 2:20.42 - Worst 2:22.32
System Hyperthreading OFF - Blender Threads ON : Best 1:19.95 - Worst 1:20.26
System Hyperthreading OFF - Blender Threads OFF : Best 2:20.78 - Worst 2:20.84


Workstation 02 :

HP XW8200
Processors Bi Xeon 3.2 Ghz
Ram 3 GB
GPU Quadro FX 3400
OS Win XP Pro SP2

System Hyperthreading ON - Blender Threads ON : Best 1:36.88 - Worst 1:38.80
System Hyperthreading ON - Blender Threads OFF : Best 2:36.83 - Worst 2:38.91
System Hyperthreading OFF - Blender Threads ON : Best 1:31.62 - Worst 1:33.12
System Hyperthreading OFF - Blender Threads OFF : Best 2:37.12 - Worst 2:38.88

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:04 pm
by alelink
hello,
I've done the test on my MacIntel 2ghz 512mb ram (threads on),
using the preview build posted in this forum.
this is the result:
56,21 sec - 8,27Mb used for the rendering

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:47 am
by Rumbl3
What's wrong with my poor results, Win XP or Intel ?

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:23 am
by ysvry
did you use the intel optimized version? that one goes about twice as fast.

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:53 am
by mpan3
Rumbl3, your time seens ok for a dual core running on XP Pro. Remember that ram size and graphics card doesn't really come into play for this render test. I'd even say that 1:19 is a very impressive time.

alelink, I've read some good feedbacks on the Intel Duo, but 56 sec?! You also mentioned memory usage which threw me off because you SHOULD use around 49mb of RAM to render the image. Is the final result the same as the following pic?

Image

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 10:54 am
by alelink
Hello, I have a 56sec of rendertime the first time, next time the render time is around 55/56.
I'll post the render view, so you can see the render value, but I can't download the scene anymore. please send me another link to the scene file
test.


thanks

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:36 am
by mpan3
That's a great time. Can you give us more info on your system? hardware, os, blender version?

And the .blend file is here so you can give it another try: http://mpan3.homeip.net/file.folder/benchmark.blend

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:23 pm
by alelink
Hello, I'done some render of the scene, and I've posted some screenshot of the renderview;
my system specs are:
iMac Intel 2,0GHZ
512Mb Ram
OSX 10.4.6

I use the first macIntel blender build, at this link: http://www.blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8337

so, those are the pics (please consider that during render the mem usage is around 41Mb)
Image

Image

Image

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:23 pm
by mpan3
:shock: I am sold, that speed is probably on par with an A64 4200+. You didn't mentio its an intel duo (dual core) so i assume it's just one cpu?!

So after all mac makes an awsome worksation...

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:37 pm
by DwarvenFury
They only make dual-core Intel iMacs, so the CPU should be a 2.0 GHz Intel Core Duo.

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:25 am
by alelink
I'm sorry, I did't say that the iMac is a DualCore.
For the rendering I've enabled the thread option.

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:07 am
by mpan3
DwarvenFury wrote:They only make dual-core Intel iMacs, so the CPU should be a 2.0 GHz Intel Core Duo.
call me an ignorant PC-fanatic who knows nothing about the world outside. :oops:

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:03 am
by DwarvenFury
call me an ignorant PC-fanatic who knows nothing about the world outside.
The only reason I knew that was that I'm interested in getting an Intel iMac when I raise the necessary funds.:wink: As long as your PC suits you, there's no need to know about the outside world.:)