compress executables

Game Engine, Players & Web Plug-in, Virtual Reality, support for other engines

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
bleen
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:58 am

compress executables

Post by bleen » Wed Sep 22, 2004 5:41 pm

hi there,

last time i try playing on the gameengine...
but when i saved my "game" the files became really huge of bytes....
so i try to pack the executable with exe-packer like upx and so on, but
after i compressed the file the executable is broken...
the exe-packer compressed my file about 50% of its blendersaved runtime, this is very comfortable...

is there any on who has experience with exe-packer?
maybe anybody know that problem and have a solution!?



____
bleen

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:46 pm

Use UPX - its a truely awesome exe packer and useually does a better job then Bzip/Gzip/or PkZip - With no noticible speed loss (aparently even on the authors P100)

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:18 pm

What do you mean by very big?
I think the game-engine is about 2Mb (orso, same size as the blender player) Then blender file is 'glued' to that. I don't know what you use for textures, but if they are jpeg then compressing the file will not help much.
Generaly the problem with big game blender files are the textures.

_32bit
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:14 pm

Post by _32bit » Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:40 pm

he can´t use upx, coz he already said that the upx thingie will "broke" the blender.exe, or is there a solution/hint for that ?

greetz
_32bit

bleen
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:58 am

Post by bleen » Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:56 pm

hello once again...

so, as i explained, i try to compress the dynruntime or the

standalone-runtime and it shutdown the .exe file immediately or windows

output an error message when i had compressed the file with upx. of course, i

can compress the blenderplayer.exe (oki, i hadn´t mentioned that i mean not

the player itself!), but not the .exe files. i was wondering why that is????

@joeri: i had only tested realy small scenes with a few objects and 5 textures (alpha .tga!), but it half the size about 50% in my case!

@ideasman: if you have experience with that, it would be very nice to tell me

@_32bit: thats it!

how you do that...i cant run any of my compressed executables...


____
bleen

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Thu Sep 23, 2004 11:55 pm

I upx'd my whole /usr/bin directory- with no noticible speed loss and an average compression ratio of 33%- Works well on many systems

my blender exe went from 6.1 meg to 2.3 meg


With

upx blender --best --crp-ms=999999 --nrv2d -o blender_upx

Friday13
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 10:40 pm

Post by Friday13 » Sat Sep 25, 2004 8:28 pm

I had suggested that Blender should be distributed compressed with UPX a while a go (not many people liked the idea). Blender's file size is increasing dramatically with every release (the Blender 2.34 folder is over 9MB, at least on Win32).
Don't miss the sequel: "I still see dead people"

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:26 pm

@Friday13

Blender is a powerfull but small 3d apps. but optimisation is always usefull.
At the Mozilla projekt every three releases they tried to focus performance, optimisation, speed, size and memory usage. After that they call ist stable brunch.
May after 2.35 to the end of the year a 2.35 built that do just that would be fine.

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Sun Sep 26, 2004 12:21 am

blender filesize will grow with features- duhh

But the load time is still awesome and its still very responfive- Compare to max for eg.

bleen
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:58 am

Post by bleen » Sun Sep 26, 2004 7:58 pm

@ ideasman: i tried your settings, but it only works with the blender.exe, blenderdynplayer.exe and the blenderplayer.exe BUT NOT IN MY RUNTIMES ("GAMES")!
i see you are on a linux-machine (i´m on a w2k-machine), maybe thats a difference. my game crashs when i run it!

any comments to get my "compressed" runtimes running??

____
bleen

Post Reply