Page 1 of 1

Field around obstacle - fluid can't touch it?

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:47 am
by Pole
Made a pool, with shallow water in it. Have an object (obstacle) slamming down to the bottom, making the water splash all around. When the water comes back, there is like a field around the whole object, so the water doesn't touch the object...!

I got one suggestion from the chat channel to scale everything up, but that just made the field even bigger...

Any other suggestions?

Big Thanks in advance!!

Re: Field around obstacle - fluid can't touch it?

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:19 am
by NielsBlender
Pole wrote:I got one suggestion from the chat channel to scale everything up, but that just made the field even bigger...

Any other suggestions?
Scale down... :)

This was on blendernation not so long ago, it might help you;
http://www.blendernation.com/2007/11/21 ... #more-3284

Hope this helps,
Niels

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:49 am
by Pole
Nice link!! Very good guide for a bunch of parameters... still didn't mention anything about having to scale everything down... but since scaling up caused it to get worse I guess scaling down would make it better... but still don't think it will get close enough to look good...
I will try the scale down thing next time I get some time...

Many thanks for the link and for the suggestion!

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:08 am
by Pole
Nah... I just shrunk everything a whole bunch, and it is still pretty much as bad. Can still clearly see a big space between obstacle and fluid... :(

I wonder if it is just a setting instead I need to change or something??

Anyone?

THanks in advance!

/ Pole

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:09 pm
by NielsBlender
Pole,

My 'scale down' was in return of your conclusion:
Pole wrote:scale everything up, made the field even bigger
An alternative might be, to make a substitute 'obstacle', which will than be smaller than the mainObject. The mainObject is parented to the substituteObject and the substitute is of course transparent...

If you ask me, the fluid-system is able to do what you want..., continuing now 'to-get-it-done' is already helping you out next-time... :)

Hope this helps,
Niels


ps.
If you want to try-out using the fluidsystem, use a separate .blend till all parameters will become logical-values... Then you'll know if it is 'the fluidsystem'... ;)

Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:34 am
by CubeFreak
Have you tried increasing the domain resolution?

Posted: Thu May 29, 2008 5:33 am
by zymn
mess with the obstacle buttons a little. make the domain bigger. what helped me is to make the obstacle half/half or something. its bounds would only be the actual object.

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:03 am
by clicksubhendu
Really valuable information. Thanks man...