Page 1 of 1

How to import .bvh to the existing armature?

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:05 pm
by SkyMasterX
Dear all,

Is it posible to import .bvh (mocap) to the existing armature? Please help.

SkyMaster

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:15 pm
by sten
I know with the latest Blender 2.34 has a import script for .bvh files, but how to make it work I dont know...

check File ---> Import ---> Motion Capture .bvh

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:52 pm
by SkyMasterX
I tried that. It can import .bvh perfectly by create the hierachy of empties with IPO movement.

However, I do not know how to link these empties to the bones. Could anyone explain the process that I can use these empties IPO to apply to each bones of my armature?

Please help.

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:08 pm
by sten
you could try to start read here about "constraints"
http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... x7045.html

at the end of a armature in posemode, add an extra bone at the tip as a ika-guide, and to that one you can have a empty to parent it to..

so, Posemode --> select outer guidebone...in constrainpanel, add the name of the empty you want to have the movement as the bvh has...I hope it will help some...more docs in a link below:

http://www.blender.org/modules/document ... c6624.html

Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:11 pm
by sten
btw...I moved this topic to "Animation" forum, it is better placed there :)

but actually, these questions are better answered (as a user) over at www.elysiun.com, but I dont know if your question/s are development rated...

well, good luck :)

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 2:23 am
by ideasman
Hi, I wrote the BVH importer and exporter.

The best way is to go into pose mode with your existing armature and use constraints to make your armature's bones track to the empties, this can be tricky but has good results in the long run.

- Cam

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:47 am
by scourage
Ideasman,

I had used your script to create one that makes an armature and animates it instead of empties. However, I don't have it quite right. If you have time, would you mind taking a look and help me find the bugs? Thanks for your time.

Cheers,

Bob
http://bane.servebeer.com/programming/blender

PS. Good work with the renderfarm script. I can't wait to try it out.

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:16 am
by ideasman
BVH rotations are a megga pain- it could be todo with order you apply the rotations in (BVH isnt like blender)

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 11:42 am
by scourage
ok, I'll look at the order of the rotations. I hadn't thought of that. Thanks!

Cheers,

Bob

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:19 am
by Monkeyboi
I've applied a .bvh motion capture animation to an armature, which looked great, but as soon as I applied my mesh things got horribly wrong. The bones follow the right empties, but they are rotated wrongly along their local z axis. Is there a way to solve this?

My file is here:

http://www.shadeless.dk/files/mocap_boxer.zip

If the Bake command would let me bake Track To constraints I could manually adjust the bone rotations, but it doesn't seem to be possible.

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:53 am
by an-toni
any news on this?

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:47 am
by scourage
The problem that I'm running into with my bvh importer is that when the joints are not all in the same plane, some of bones get a roll induced in them that messes up the animation (usually along the z axis). This roll is a local roll, and when the world roll is applied from the BVH data, it gets all funky. I'm looking at zeroing this roll or adjusting the BVH data so that it's only a local roll, but I've been lazy and haven't done it yet.

Cheers,

Bob