Page 1 of 1

Linux Alt-A Playback = Instant Blender Crash

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:42 pm
by Pablosbrain
Anyone else have this problem?

Opening up a .blend with some objects animated and then pressing Alt-A blender proceeds to crash instantly.
I'm currently running on Redhat Fedora Core 3. I've tried 2.35/a/b all with the same result. A segmentation fault is all thats displayed with no additional output. Is this something being fixed for the next Bug Fix release they are working on according to the email discussions? or should I submit to the tracker?

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:11 pm
by z3r0_d
have you tried disabling audio?

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 11:20 pm
by Pablosbrain
Yup... I'm pretty sure thats in my .b.blend file. I'll verify that tonight after work though.

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2004 6:48 pm
by basse
last time something like this was happening, it was fedora core 2 SDL packages, that were built in a certain way that caused trouble. I wouldn't be surprised if they still are doing that :)

to fix it, was an enviroment variable to be set.

"export SDL_AUDIODRIVER=dma"

it was quite horrible when this happened. and it was quite a debug session and I think it was Unnamed who finally thought about this dma thingy.. don't remember anymore. it ended up into FAQ too .. http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Linux.301.0.html#1484

just one of the reasons that made me switch to debian, finally :)

.b

Crash!!

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:22 am
by ArkyMedia
I had this happen too. I compiled it from source as a 64-bit version and it works fine now.

Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:12 pm
by hanspb
This happened to me once. At that time I was playing a cd (music) with Kaffeine. It has never happened when I have no sound, so it's got something to do with sound. Quite annoying for those who like listening to music while blendering. (Blender 2.36, Mandrake 10.1, Alsa 1.0.6 sound driver).

Hans Petter

Posted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 5:22 pm
by stiv
The problem is two applications trying to grab the same sound device. This is a system issue and not an application problem. For this to work, you need a mixer or sound daemon that allows multiple connections to the sound device.