Fixing problems with IPO driven bones

Animation tools, character animation, non linear animation

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

tron_thomas

Fixing problems with IPO driven bones

Post by tron_thomas »

I have been working with trying to do some character animation with Blender, and I'm convinced there are bugs using the new driven IPO feature with armature bones.

I suspect this is a major problem that will not be addressed in the next release of Blender as the problem still exists in the latest release candidate.

I would very much like to see this problem address. As a software developer, I am willing to spend some time to look into the problem and try to fix it myself, or help someone else if an effort has already been started. It would be extremely helpful if I could get the guidance and direction on how to go about doing this.

What is the best way for me to get in touch with people that would have knowlege about how this feature of Blender is implemented?

aligorith

Post by aligorith »

Any potential bugs you could name/describe?

Aligorith

tron_thomas

Post by tron_thomas »

I cannot cite anything specific at this time. The setup I'm using in somewhat complicated by the number of elements involved. It is based on a character animation tutorial explained in "Learning Maya 5 | Fundamentals".

The armature system is using inverse kinematic chains, locked track contraints, and driven IPO's. These elements are used to animate the legs and feet of a character. It is hard to determine what is at fault here. I'm not sure if it is a indivual component or an interaction between some or all of them.

To describe what is going on, I've been having a problem where the leg of the characters would pop at the knee. I tried to eliminate this popping by adjusting a driver object that was supposed to affect the roll of the foot. I wanted the foot to roll upward more so that leg would stay bent.