2.5 stopped working in Ubuntu Jaunty

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

cagey5
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:43 pm

2.5 stopped working in Ubuntu Jaunty

Post by cagey5 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:12 pm

I downloaded 2.5 on the release day and ran it several times without problem, trying to get used to the interface (I didn't use previous versions because I could never come to terms with it, but this looks to be a big improvement.)

After cosing it down this morning I tried opening it again and it just immediately shuts down. Sometimes you see an outline of a window as though trying to open but nothing ever fully appears.

Searching the Internet past problems have seemed to be video driver related though I have adjusted nothing there since I first installed Jaunty.

Steps taken to resolve.
Tried running it from the terminal - no difference
Deleted Blender folder and replaced with newly unpacked version - No difference
Re-downloaded 2.5 and started afresh - no difference
Downgraded nvidia drivers to 1.73. - no difference
Re-installed 1.8 drivers - no difference
Removed nvidia drivers altogether and relied on native drivers - no difference

Tried installing Blender 2.49 - Runs fine but 2.5 still refuses to run/

When running from the terminal I get a ';segmentation fault'

What I find strange is that it was running fine and now nothing..

Any other suggestions?

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:22 pm

I have the exact same problem on Ubuntu 8.04

Downloaded, worked well a couple of times. Tried firing it up again and closed immediately. Tried starting it up wit Terminal and got a Segmentation Fult.

Still, it's looking really nice!

Cheers to all....
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:33 pm

Run blender thru gdb and see where it is crashing.

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:46 pm

Ok it fired up well with gdm, this is what I got from gdm (I closed blender o my own at the end):

joe@ghubuntu:~$ cd Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686/
joe@ghubuntu:~/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686$ gdb blender
GNU gdb 6.8-debian
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "i486-linux-gnu"...
(no debugging symbols found)
(gdb) run blender core
Starting program: /home/joe/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686/blender blender core
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[New Thread 0xb67bd700 (LWP 3776)]
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[New Thread 0xb5f0ab90 (LWP 3779)]
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
found bundled python: /home/joe/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686/.blender/python
[Thread 0xb5f0ab90 (LWP 3779) exited]
*bpy stats* - tot exec: 294, tot run: 0.0247sec, average run: 0.000084sec, tot usage 0.1143%
Saved session recovery to /tmp/quit.blend
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:41 am

at the debugger prompt, type
run
if/when it crashes, type
bt
in order to get a stackdump

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:10 am

I keep trying with gdb but it never crashes, only if I run it directly, either doube clicking or cd to folder then ./blender it will crash, but running it under gdb, it starts normally.
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

GaNDaLDF
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 4:31 am

Post by GaNDaLDF » Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:33 pm

I had the same problem under Mac OSX 10.5.8
I runned Blender 2.5 for several times, I've tried to customize a bit the startup position of the windows and then, when I've tried to run it, nothing happened.. I get the colors wheel and then all close down.
The error I get in the console is:

found bundled python: /Applications/Blender/blender.app/Contents/MacOS/.blender/python
Bus error
logout

meshface
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:30 am

Post by meshface » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:47 am

@joegiampaoli
what does "blender -d" from a terminal give you?
On Arch I had to create a symbolic link for libjpeg.so

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:39 am

This is what I get with -d:

joe@ghubuntu:~/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686$ ./blender -d
Blender 2.50 (sub 7) Build
argv[0] = ./blender
argv[1] = -d
read file
Version 250 sub 7

ordered
OBCube
OBLamp
OBCamera
swin 1 added
swin 2 added
swin 3 added
swin 4 added
swin 5 added
swin 6 added
swin 7 added
swin 8 added
swin 9 added
swin 10 added
swin 11 added
swin 12 added
set screen
read file
Version 250 sub 0
found bundled python: /home/joe/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686/.blender/python
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Operator'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Bone'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Context'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Menu'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Mesh'
SRNA Subclassed: 'MeshEdge'
SRNA Subclassed: 'MeshFace'
SRNA Subclassed: 'Object'
SRNA Subclassed: 'PoseBone'
handle evt 0 win 0 op WM_OT_splash
Segmentation fault
joe@ghubuntu:~/Desktop/blender-2.5-alpha0-linux-glibc27-i686$
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

meshface
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:30 am

Post by meshface » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:21 am

did you copy the .blender folder to your home directory?
~/.blender
I know stupid question but I'm not at your computer

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:29 am

Not stupid question at all, I did forget this time to copy it there, since I also have the 2.4 version, but I had alrady tried that and moving out the older .blender folder out of there. Tried again with the -d switch and all the output is the same, except for the line:

found bundled python: /home/joe/.blender/python

but still same error.

Older blender isn't installed system wide, so there should be no conflicts.
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

kidb
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2003 4:31 pm
Contact:

Post by kidb » Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:28 am

Try removing the .B25.blend file, i.e. rm .B25.blend.

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:50 pm

I never had a .b25.blend file just the .B.blend file, but had already tried that with the .B.blend
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

meshface
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:30 am

Post by meshface » Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:50 pm

I'm drawing straws ( figuratively )
1.) check your /tmp folder. erase any blend whatever files ( since it started up before it might have something to do here )
2.) try to start blender with "./blender 2>error.txt" see if anything definitive shows up in error.txt
3.) check error logs after failed start of blender. but after starting it normally without the " 2>error.txt"
4.) throw computer out the window ( use only if necessary )

joegiampaoli
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:01 pm

Post by joegiampaoli » Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:26 pm

Nothing related to blender in /tmp dir.
./blender 2>error.txt created an empty error.txt file
nothing in error logs.....

Really strange.
Joe Giampaoli
===============
Never tie a ship to a single anchor...
nor life to a single hope

Post Reply