Page 1 of 1

bf-blender OSX 2.33 pre (30/04/04)

Posted: Mon Apr 26, 2004 8:20 pm
by wavk
Hi, a fresh new OSX build with:

AO reflection/sky bug fix and other stuff:)

http://www.funnyfarm.tv/thelab/blender/blender.tar.gz

Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 10:27 pm
by Money_YaY!
thankyou... Do you have a tuhopuu version to ?

Posted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 10:41 pm
by JoOngle
Thanks for the OSX version.

Much appreciated!

/JoOngle

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:26 am
by JoOngle
Ok, I've now tested your Mac os X version and have found some bugs quite similar to the test I performed on the windows version in the windows thread....but still...different bugs, the images speak for themselves.

Image 1 = original render. Blender Foundation 2.32 official release.

Image 2 = Rendered with the renderer found in this thread, Ambient Occlusion added, lights adjusted - nothing else.

Image

Here's the render done with your release:

Image

Notice the "green stuff" on the chair's raymirror reflective surface
Notice that the 3 glasses now are "yellowish" instead of just glass...
And...take a look at the reflection in the picture, the yellow glass...only the top are reflected...AND...the color creates yellowish stripes...? Weird...

I don't know...I'm a 3d'er...not a coder :) Anyway...thought I'd let you know.

Cheers,
/JoOngle

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 9:06 am
by wavk
Hi JoOngle!

Yes I noticed it too, and I chatted about it yesterday with Ton, and he fixed it in no time :D It was a bug which had something to do with optimized sky/ao rendering or something similar. So it's fixed now, and maybe I'll find time this evening to upload it.

Money_YaY!, nope no tuhopuu version, although I am curious too about what's new in that release :)

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:05 pm
by Money_YaY!
wavk wrote:Hi JoOngle!

Yes I noticed it too, and I chatted about it yesterday with Ton, and he fixed it in no time :D It was a bug which had something to do with optimized sky/ao rendering or something similar. So it's fixed now, and maybe I'll find time this evening to upload it.

Money_YaY!, nope no tuhopuu version, although I am curious too about what's new in that release :)
knothing yet, There is supost to be a patch for AQSIS soon

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:08 pm
by fossileyes
Is this build for Panther only?

The app. loads fine and I can open a .blend file, but when I render, the app. quits. Even if I try to render the default cube, it quits. I've had the same problem with other previous test builds. The bf official release of 2.32 a couple of months ago works just fine.

I'm running:

OSX 10.2.8
G3 Blue & White
350mhz
576 megs of ram

Thanks for any info you can provide.

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 1:03 am
by Money_YaY!
fossileyes wrote:Is this build for Panther only?

The app. loads fine and I can open a .blend file, but when I render, the app. quits. Even if I try to render the default cube, it quits. I've had the same problem with other previous test builds. The bf official release of 2.32 a couple of months ago works just fine.

I'm running:

OSX 10.2.8
G3 Blue & White
350mhz
576 megs of ram

Thanks for any info you can provide.

something must have happened then as the panther builds were working on 10.2 a little bit ago

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:53 am
by wavk
That's wierd. It was built on panther, but I don't know about jaguar... I might test my build this evening on jaguar, then we should know if it's either Jaguar or something else on your system.

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:34 pm
by cekuhnen
all works here!

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 10:01 pm
by JoOngle
Ok guys, I'll be looking forward to the corrected version.

Meanwhile I'll do some experiments with the OSA set to 8 (and on)
and see if it makes any difference....needless to say..this scene is rather
demanding and are definately cooking my cpu's both on my Mac/Linux/windows machines...

Keep up the EXCELLENT work guys! I luv' ya all.

/S

Posted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 10:07 pm
by JoOngle
Ok guys, I'll be looking forward to the corrected version.

Meanwhile I'll do some experiments with the OSA set to 8 (and on)
and see if it makes any difference....needless to say..this scene is rather
demanding and are definately cooking my cpu's both on my Mac/Linux/windows machines...

Keep up the EXCELLENT work guys! I luv' ya all.

/S

Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 9:55 am
by wavk
Hi fossileyes,

I just checked on osx jaguar and you're right, blender crashes when pressing f12. Very wierd. Maybe I can test some things this weekend, like compiling it on the jaguar machine...


Hi JoOngle,

I just uploaded the new version, at the same download location :D

Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 5:23 pm
by fossileyes
Hi wavk,

Thanks for checking out the bug, I thought maybe something was wrong
on my system. On a related note, when pressing the Anim button, the same thing happens, Blender quits.

Posted: Sat May 01, 2004 10:00 am
by wavk
You should check out the new release, it's built for 10.2, so that should work:) But you probably already have it:)