bf-blender / Windows (2004/05/22)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

bf-blender / Windows (2004/05/22)

Post by gabio » Sun May 23, 2004 4:53 am

bf blender for windows. 04/05/22

Some new stuff is in the CVS, see what we got this week...
compiled with msvc 6, ands scons. Virus Free.

Relevant modif:
-New zoom method with CTRL-middle mouse.
-New python api function.
-bugfixs.
-game engines.
-new python ui integration works.

Commit:
-ton:
Log:
Patch provided by Matthew Plough for better view zoom with CTRL+middle
mouse.

For me it's a good replacement, and more intuitive & compatible. Now
let's wait for the storm of reactions...

-ianwill:
Log:
BPython:
-- Added two new functions to the Draw module, to display int and float popup buttons:
Both contributed by Campbell Barton, thanks!
-- Fixed a couple warnings.

-ton:
Log:
Removed a bzero from octree-filling, replaced with exact code what
needs cleared. Timings go down nice:

octree new 2.33a

128 0:04.2 0:07.5
256 0:06.5 0:20.0
512 0:18.0 2.06.9

Time is including initialize renderfaces etc. 100k quads.

-theeth:
Log:
UV_Export script update. Typo fix and add tga extension automaticly.
Log:
Bug #1289
Mirror menu missing in the Header Menu for most object types in edit mode http://projects.blender.org/tracker/ind ... 9&atid=125

-stiv:
bugfix: #1212 changing object's layer had no effect.

-broken:
Log:
A few hotkey additions/corrections to the toolbox and 3d view menus.
Log:
Added Shift C 'Center Cursor and View All' to View -> Align View menu

-kester:
Log:
Depth sorting for alpha mesh objects.

- Mesh Objects are sorted by depth (based on object centre.) Using object centre means the user has control over the sort.
- Polygons are not sorted.
- Polygons are not split.
- O(nlog(n))
Log:
Fixes for Camera objects and python:

Normalise clip planes for sphere testing.
Do a frustum-sphere <-> sphere test
Reference count all python objects (!)
Log:
Frustum sphere culling.

Do a sphere<->camera sphere and a sphere<->frustum before the box<->frustum test.
Log:
Cunning hack for Blender python module in the game engine - just don't unload it before running the game!

-ianwill:Log:
BPython:
- updated docs with recently added functions
- dynamic menu entries now are sorted (alphabetically, of course)
- added new menu categories for scripts: Wizards, Modifiers, Generators, Materials, Animation:
only added to list of options, didn't mess with any Blender header. They are already available from the "Scripts" menu in the scripts win, but not elsewhere.
- added option 'datadir' to Blender.Get(option):
so scripts can use .blender/bpydata for reading / writing their data files.

A new build is available
Last edited by gabio on Thu May 27, 2004 5:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

aoe2bug
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:31 am
Contact:

Post by aoe2bug » Sun May 23, 2004 5:11 am

i dont know about the majority or blender users, but i for one dont bow down to our new zoom overlords. :)

(can't we atleast have the option?) I dont think that theres anything wrong with the new zoom, if blender had always been that way im sure noone wouldnt mind a bit. I'm just used to the old system.

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Sun May 23, 2004 5:14 am

I'm not complaining since i'm using the wheel mouse. :P
But the option could be good

aoe2bug
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:31 am
Contact:

Post by aoe2bug » Sun May 23, 2004 5:19 am

Actually, i hadnt really used the wheel before. Id always thought it was too slow, now i realize theres an option for that too. whatever happends to the zoom, its still gonna take awile (for me atleast) to get used to a new system. I guess its not that important, but it is something we use alot.

arangel
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 2:54 pm
Location: Brasília - Brazil
Contact:

Post by arangel » Sun May 23, 2004 5:51 am

Congrats! Great work you guys are doing on the culling and render otimizations.
WHen I play my game, I caould once only see elements very close to the camera. Now I can only see one element which is very far away, all others, including my grounf plane became invisible during gameplay. Is there a way to adjust the culling thereshold?
The 2004-5-18 build got the culling working for me.
ZOOM - I think the new zoom is slower to get the desired point and behaves oddly (operates in different ways dependeing on the side of the screen one clicks, left or right). We should have and option - and I think the old system shold be the default.
Alexandre Rangel
Multimedia Designer
www.3Dzine.com.br

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax » Sun May 23, 2004 10:42 pm

my "copy" behaves strangely - it looks as if "ALT" or "CTRL" were locked, i can only zoom around. which brings me to the point - i don't like the new zoom mode. the problem is it depends on the midpoint of the viewport, which is hard to hit.. however others my like it, but i'd keep the old one at least as an option.

marin

leinad13
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:35 pm

Post by leinad13 » Mon May 24, 2004 9:12 am

I dont like the new zoom either and i would like to see a user preferance button to chose between the old and new style. I cant beleive such a core workflow feature like this could be changed without leaving the old compatability in.
-------------
Over to you boffins

L!13

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Mon May 24, 2004 9:48 am

Why not have CTRL+SHIFT as the old style and keep CTRL for the current?

M@dcow
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 12:50 pm

Post by M@dcow » Mon May 24, 2004 10:50 am

sorry, but the new zoom feature sucks.

I wish I could be more constructive about it, but the simple fact is that I hate it. Period.

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman » Mon May 24, 2004 12:01 pm

I actually realy like the controlled way the new feature works.
With the other it was possible to zoom too far and not be able to go back to the previous zoom level easely.

Have both I say

GFA-MAD
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 7:59 pm

Post by GFA-MAD » Mon May 24, 2004 2:29 pm

This new Zoom method is a GREAT IDEA ! The old method was, in my opinion, a bad one. So, please, keep this new one !

Thanks.

GFA-MAD
French user, visit www.blender.clan.st !

gabio
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Canada - Québec - Sherbrooke
Contact:

Post by gabio » Mon May 24, 2004 3:36 pm

Definetly, we need a radio button in the option window...

Metallica
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 12:46 am

Post by Metallica » Tue May 25, 2004 12:34 am

just tested out that nice culling... really awsome job! :D but a good feature would be so you can set how far away you have to be for the objects/faces to be culled. arangel called it a culling threshold... sounds good :) it would really come in handy

Saluk
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:52 am

Post by Saluk » Tue May 25, 2004 10:17 am

Do you have to do something to turn culling on? I looked everywhere but couldn't find anything. I didn't notice any performance increase in my game, although it is set up in a way that frustum culling should help quite a bit. Could be that I have a bottleneck elsewhere than the rendering pipeline though.

ada89
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 10:26 pm

Post by ada89 » Tue May 25, 2004 5:21 pm

Saluk wrote:Do you have to do something to turn culling on? I looked everywhere but couldn't find anything.
Same with me :?

Post Reply